Product:
Prong Dog Collars and Links necks Prong
Rating: 4.1

Average rating from 49 reviews.

Similar Products:
EZYDog
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 4 reviews.

Balance Training Dummy
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

The Handler Lead
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 11 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

29 reviews

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Laura
Flag
Rating: 1

Please don't use these!

posted 6 years ago

Please don't use this choke collar with prongs, which dig cruelly into a dogs neck when pulled. When my dog Jake and I were in obedience class together, I was dismayed to notice a nearby boxer whose neck was being rubbed raw by one of these pronged devices. Dog long to please their owners, and will respond well to positive training and rewards.

Pros: Forceful control

Cons: cruel

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Allyssa W.
Flag
Rating: 4

Very Helpful

posted 6 years ago

I had to purchase one of these for our large breed dog when I became pregnant because he pulled at the leash during walks. He immediately stopped tugging and walking became much more enjoyable. It worked so well, I purchased one for our tiniest dog, a Chihuahua/Dachsund mix who pulls until she chokes herself. Again, almost instant results. Now we all walk perfectly (there is a 3rd dog who never needed one) well together. While I always hated the sight of these collars in the stores and on other dogs, I realized their usefulness. The dogs didn't seem to mind the collars at all, but they did end their tugging quickly.

Pros: quick results

Cons: scary looking and hard to get over head

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Jinxkitty
Flag
Rating: 5

Easy walker

posted 6 years ago

We have a pitbull that lives at our shelter. He is very strong. I have to have a prong collar to walk Harley. The collar does look scary, but it does not hurt Harley at all. I'm just glad that this collar allows me to walk such a strong pittie like Harley. He loves the exercise.

Pros: good for really strong dogs

Cons: none

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Jennifer H.
Flag
Rating: 5

They're great!

posted 5 years ago

When I got my 2 little bichons and tried to take them for a walk, they would pull so hard they would literally pass out. My trainer recommended these collars and it worked instantly! They can't pull too hard and they never passed out again and it helped with training in general. Someone told me he thought it was mean to use these collars, I think it's much more cruel to let them pass out and fall over in the street. The only issue is if you only use them for the walk (as I do) then it's a little hard to get them on and off but it's worth it!

Pros: great to keep dogs from pulling

Cons: difficult to take on and off

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

KidsandPets
Flag
Rating: 5

I agree they look scary

posted 6 years ago

These are the most effective, humane collars for dogs who are headstrong, pullers, pain-insensitive, etc. I first bought one for a dog who probably had no idea he was pulling and for the life of him couldn't figure out what the point of corrections with other types of collars were. This was a delight to him since he had better, more frequent walks, without having me get upset.

Ignore the idiots who don't understand them- just like those who fail to understand remote trainers (electronic collars).

Pros: safer than Halti types, or slip collars

Cons: clueless humans freak

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›