Product:
Prong Dog Collars and Links necks Prong
Rating: 4.1

Average rating from 49 reviews.

Similar Products:
EZYDog
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 4 reviews.

Balance Training Dummy
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

The Handler Lead
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 11 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

29 reviews

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Bob C.
Flag
Rating: 2

I dont like these

posted 6 years ago

This tool is designed to keep the tension off the dog and when you need to correct them , give the dog a quick correction a release then tension..

However I see to many people that allow the dog to keep constant tension on the collar and leash.. the result is the dogs neck get very irratated or cut..

The prong collar and chocker should only be used by someone who is trained and knows what they are doing... You can hurt a dog badly with this collar..

I used one of these on one of my pitties and did not find it any more effective than a martingale... however the Halti is the collar I would always recommend with a martingale as a back up.

Pros: If used correctly they are a good tool

Cons: most people do not know how to use them

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Klfowler
Flag
Rating: 4

Great for 'training'

posted 6 years ago

This collar - recognized as a 'pinch' collar should only be used when teaching a dog to walk nicely on a leash. It is not - if used properly - mean. Once the dog learns not to pull, walking should be much more pleasant!

Pros: Great if used ONLY for Training

Cons: can be hard to put on

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Bepirett
Flag
Rating: 5

My dog pulls alot...

posted 6 years ago

I never thought I would use a prong collar but my pit bull pulls alot especially if we go into the pet store. Also when I want to walk her, I want to have a nice walk, not to be pulled the whole way. It is a good teaching tool. Instead of the bigger pronged collar, I use the smaller links and it still works well with her.

Pros: Good teaching tool and better control of dog

Cons: a bit hard to put on links

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Bruce  C.
Flag
Rating: 4

Good for some dogs

posted 6 years ago

I have a Fila Mastiff. I've tried harnesses, Martingale collars, Haltis, etc. but the only thing that she seems to respect is the prong. She doesn't pull, she follows commands, she is a perfect angel.

Pros: Good training collar

Cons: Not right for all dogs

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

George P.
Flag
Rating: 2

Not for most dogs.

posted 6 years ago

Prong Collars really should be banned. They are usually used wrong. And most of the time, you could use a gentle leader or head halter and get better results.

Pros: great in the right hands and the right dog.

Cons: usually used wrong

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›