Product:
Prong Dog Collars and Links necks Prong
Rating: 4.1

Average rating from 49 reviews.

Similar Products:
EZYDog
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 4 reviews.

Balance Training Dummy
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

The Handler Lead
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 11 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

29 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Jimmie48
Flag
Rating: 5

Control

posted 7 years ago

excellent for dogs that pull alot

Pros: excellent

Cons: none

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

judy
Flag
Rating: 4

It was necessary for my LAB

posted 7 years ago

Well, I took my lab when she was 6 months to training. She did not respond to regular choke collar. At the time, 1993, the choke was used pretty widely to make snap corrections.
I did used to use this when I pushed my kids in the double stroller and walked Honey at the same time (every day for 45 min when mykids were young, I was young, she was young...etc).

I do not see the need for this now with my pittie/husky (he's so smart!) but it's good for some of the really hard -to-handle dogs at my shelter.
thanks!

Pros: Great, IF used correctly.

Cons: mixed feeling

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Sam L.
Flag
Rating: 5

A real training coller

posted 6 years ago

Very good training device, should be used only under the supervison of an experienced trainer or handler. This is a true training collar unlike some ofthe junk presented here.

Pros: excellent training device

Cons: none

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Rhonda H.
Flag
Rating: 4

Prong collar is very useful

posted 6 years ago

I use this collar every day with my black lab. It keeps him from pulling when walking on a lead and also we use it when he goes out to potty. I have a very large fenced in yard that he can jump it as if there is no fence. I also have 6 other dogs to take out so have to have a way to control him. We have a very long chain in the yard and we use the collar to take him out and hook it to the chain so he can potty....he doesnt like to defacate on a lead. We STAY with him and do not leave him out on a chain with it. I didnt like the idea of it in the beginning, but have learned that although it does hurt ...it only hurts if they pull and they quickly learn NOT to pull. My black lab gets very excited when we pick up the collar to put on him. It is also easy to take off and on as it just slips overt the head. Also, if your dog has another collar on, make sure that this collar is placed above it or below it and not on top of it or it wont work.

Actually, the main reason I got it and use it is because my lab is an escape artist (he has even been neutered). We have tried harnesses and all different types of collars on him and he can manage to escape out of it. He has also escaped from this one but it doesnt happen near as often. He will come back home, but we fear something would happen to him so then we have to go find him. He loves car riding so I fear he would get into a car with someone.

Pros: Helps teach a dog not to pull when walking on a lead

Cons: They CAN escape from it if not watched

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

betty p.
Flag
Rating: 3

More gentle ways are out there

posted 6 years ago

I really don't like prong collars because most folks do not know how to use them properly. You can not just put it on a dog and hope it works to keep it from pulling.

I will always use a Gentle Leader or Head Halti. These are more humane in the way to control a dog. Prong collars should be a thing of the past.

Pros: well made

Cons: can hurt if not used proper

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›