Product:
Premier Pet Gentle Leader Training Dog Collar
Rating: 4.1

Average rating from 49 reviews.

More Products By Premier Pet Products:
Ultimate Puppy Toolkit
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Tennis Tug Dog Toy
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

Tiny Squirrel Tennis Tail
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

See all (167) ›

Similar Products:
EZYDog
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 4 reviews.

Balance Training Dummy
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

The Handler Lead
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 11 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

29 reviews

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Patrick L.
Flag
Rating: 4

Great training aide

posted 7 years ago

Have also used these at the shelter and prefer these most of all. We highly recommend them to people wishing to get a training aide that will help you work with your dog, instead of a punishment type aide. These leaders give you the quality you deserve and after seeing them take some wear and tear, have to say they come through with flying colors.

Pros: Helps train those dogs that give you trouble walking

Cons: cant say anything bad

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Peggy
Flag
Rating: 4

Almost instant attitude adjustment!

posted 7 years ago

I just have a small dog, but he wants to always run and pulls when on a leash. When we put this on him, he instantly stops all activity and lies down. He almost looks embarrassed to have it on. He dislikes it so much that he runs and hides when we get it out to put it on him. Living in an upstairs apartment means that it takes awhile to get him outside to go potty. He tends to need to run to get outside. This is when he pulls the most and the gentle leader does not work for that purpose - he pulls anyway. However, when we go for walks, the gentle leader really works and he walks very nicely with it on.

Pros: It works well for walks.

Cons: He hates having it on.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Tami T.
Flag
Rating: 4

Works, but...

posted 6 years ago

Benny tends to pull. With the Gentle Leader, he stopped pulling. But it was at the cost of taking all the fun out of walks for him. In fact, he could barely pee, he was so distracted by this. It was sad to watch.

Pros: Fitted correctly, it will work

Cons: Took all the fun and life out of our dog!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Terre F.
Flag
Rating: 3

Stops dog from pulling

posted 6 years ago

I have 2 cocker spaniels, one it worked great for and the other one it's OK. Toby walks great with the gentle leader, he just keeps the leash out as far as he can. Thumper keeps stopping and trying to get the lead off with his paw. This has caused problems when he decides to do it in the middle of the road. I usually almost trip over him, because he comes to a complete stop, whether or not cars are coming. It's difficult with 2 dogs walking at the same time. I can't keep them at my side, so they walk out in front, which is OK as long as Thumper doesn't act up.

Pros: stops a dog from pulling, gives you more control

Cons: my one dog tries to paw it off

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Laura
Flag
Rating: 4

A great way to go for a dog that pull!

posted 6 years ago

Makes teaching the dog to sit easy and stops dogs who like to jump up on strangers. We would not have learned loose leash walking without this aid.

To get her to like it I put it on whenever we did anything fun (eat, treat, play games) until she stopped pawing at it. Then I attached the leash and used it for walking. I haven't had any problems and this only took a couple of sessions. You do have to be careful that you dont yank the leash so when they are learning don't give them enough slack to run and then try to stop them all at once. Keep it loose but not loose enough that they try to take off running!

Pros: Stops the pulling in a safe and gentle way.

Cons: The dog doesn't like to wear it at first.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›