Product:
Premier Pet Gentle Leader Training Dog Collar
Rating: 4.1

Average rating from 49 reviews.

More Products By Premier Pet Products:
Ultimate Puppy Toolkit
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Tennis Tug Dog Toy
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

Tiny Squirrel Tennis Tail
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

See all (167) ›

Similar Products:
EZYDog
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 4 reviews.

Balance Training Dummy
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

The Handler Lead
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 11 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

29 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Jill01
Flag
Rating: 4

Great training tool

posted 7 years ago

Gentle leaders are terrific training tools to teach dogs to behave properly when walking with a leash and it also doesn't hurt the dogs.

Pros: None

Cons: None

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Mstad70
Flag
Rating: 4

Love this!

posted 6 years ago

I had a real problem with my dane mix pulling me for a walk, it was awful. Upon recommendation from my vet I bought this lead and from the second I put it on him, it worked like a charm. It took a few minutes for him to get used to it, but I was able to keep his head up and he walked next to me with no pulling. This lead can be tricky to get on, so once you have it adjusted make sure you don't change it. That way it's just a matter of putting it around his head and clicking it shut. Overall, one of the best products I've purchased for my pooch.

Pros: Works like magic

Cons: Have to get adjustments just right

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

amy a.
Flag
Rating: 2

Hmmmm.

posted 6 years ago

I just never could wrap my mind around this idea. This sort of "halter" works perfectly with horses, but dogs have a different sort of head. This harness always seems to end up squishing the dog's eye, or irritating their skin, and just generally being annoying. My dogs just hate them.

Pros: Not around the trachea

Cons: Dogs don't like 'em!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Teresa C.
Flag
Rating: 5

Interesting.

posted 6 years ago

I took a couple of Golden Retrievers to a Goldie Rescue today and they fitted one of them with this Premier Pet Gentle Leader Training Collar. It was the first time I'd seen one in use, although I've heard about them and how effective they are. I asked the man about it, and he said this was a great collar to teach larger dogs not to pull and to walk calmly on the leash.

Pros: Interesting.

Cons: Non found.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Melissa
Flag
Rating: 4

Most effective against pulling

posted 6 years ago

Using this gentle leader is the only way I can enjoy a walk with my dog. I've tried and tried to train her not to pull, and while I've had great success training her with other things, she won't stop pulling.
But, she doesn't enjoy wearing it. As long as we're walking she's fine, but the moment we stop she tries to pull it off or rub her head on the ground. She still tries to pull against it, and by the time we get home I can tell it's rubbed her muzzle a bit. I'm hoping with more training she'll learn not to pull against it.
Also, I wish the snap on the back of the head was made of metal, not plastic, it worries me that it will break while we're on a walk. Once I didn't get it snapped all the way and it came unclasped during a walk. So I always link the leash through her collar too, which makes the leader a little less effective.
I recommend this collar if nothing else has worked, it will work.

Pros: very effective

Cons: dog doesn't enjoy it

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›