Product:
Pet Botanics Rolled Meat Dog Food
Rating: 4.4

Average rating from 19 reviews.

More Products By Pet Botanics:
Healty Omega Treats
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Pet Botanics Lamb & Rice Dinner
Rating: 4.7

Average rating from 12 reviews.

Pet Botanics Healthy Omega Treats for Dogs
Rating: 4.7

Average rating from 7 reviews.

See all (17) ›

Similar Products:
Fresh Fetch Pet Foods
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Vital Dog and Cat Food
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

12 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
KATEtheGREAT
Flag
Rating: 5

Great as Training Treats

posted 6 years ago

I am a professional dog trainer, and I love this food. It is great for finicky eaters in the first place, but it's fantastic for training them too! Just peel off the wrapping, cut it into 1/4 inch thick slices, and put them in the freezer in a freezer bag or tupperware. When you are ready to feed/train your dog, pull out a slice and it will be soft enough to use in 5 minutes. You can keep it in the fridge, but it keeps longer in the freezer. Just make sure that it is either refrigerated or frozen after opening it. Because it is in the FOOD section and not the TREAT section, it is highly economical AND nutritionally balanced. Pinch off/cut up tiny pieces and no more worries about replacing your dog's meal with fattening junk food. Remember: if your treat has cartoons on the packaging, check the ingredients for sugars, corn syrup, propylene glycol, dyes, and artificial preservatives (such as BHA, TBQ, BTA, EDTA, and ethoxyquin). Instead look for glycerin and/or specified animal fats to replace propylene glycol, and rosemary extract and/or tocopherols to replace artificial preservatives.

Pros: natural, low-fat, balanced nutrition, very tasty

Cons: must be kept refrigerated/frozen

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Cheryl B.
Flag
Rating: 5

Jazz and Stella say Good Stuff!!

posted 6 years ago

I have one picky eater and adding this to his regular food stimulates his appetite. I don't actually know how it tastes, and have no plans to find out, but it smells like sausage and they give it 4 paws up!

It's also a good treat to use for training. They think they are getting something special.

Pros: They gobble it down

Cons: takes a while to chop it up

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Jessica
Flag
Rating: 5

GREAT for training!

posted 6 years ago

I volunteer training dogs at a local shelter, and I haven't found a dog yet that doesn't love this food as a reward. We use positive reinforcement training and that can mean LOTS of treats, which can lead to upset stomachs when hot dogs or other fatty, processed treats are used. By using wholesome dog food as treats, we prevent digestive problems with our shelter dogs.

Pros: great taste for dogs, healthy

Cons: can make your hands stink

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Jessica G.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great Motivator for Training or Meals

posted 5 years ago

I bought this for our rescued saint bernard, hoping it would help her put on some weight. She was 78lbs when I rescued her 2 weeks ago and has gained at least 3 lbs. We feed dry in the am and pm and this in the early afternoon. She will nudge the fridge when she sees me get her bowl at lunch time. Our other dog gets it as treats and LOVES it! We have been slowly teaching him tricks and this has been a huge booster to our efforts--he really has done almost anything for it!

I also love that the first 4 ingredients are meat-based and not by-products: Lamb Meat, Lamb Hearts, Lamb Kidneys, Lamb Lungs.

Pros: dogs loved it, meaty, treats or food

Cons: cost a lot as sole diet for large dogs

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Ken M.
Flag
Rating: 1

Pet Botanics - good for training.

posted 6 years ago

Great for training. I volunteer to work with and trains dogs at MaxFund. Almost all dogs love it. Makes it much easier to work with them win they are treat oriented.

Pros: Most dogs love it.

Cons: Not much. Needs to be refridgerated.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›