Product:
Vectra 3D
Rating: 3.4

Average rating from 20 reviews.

Similar Products:
Carpet/Premise Spray for Fleas and Tick Plus
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 5 reviews.

Fly Free Zone Natural Fly Repellant Dog Collar

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Comfortis for Dogs
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

20 reviews

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Mixuone
Flag
Rating: 1

What's in this stuff?

posted 3 years ago

I have two 6 month old puppies and the vet gave us Vectra 3D to use so I've been applying it monthly. Tonight I spilled a few drops on my new dining room table and it ate right through the top coat. I have about 6 small round holes in the finish and I'm not sure if I'm mad because my table is ruined (or needs professional repair) or the fact that I've been putting this on my puppies for three months and it's obviously strong enough to eat through polyurethane or whatever they use on table tops. Is it just this product or are other flea and tick meds just as toxic? I used to use Frontline for my last dog that passed away last year, but the vet only carries Vectra 3D now.

Pros: Too new to say

Cons: Ate through the finish on my table

21 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Corrinelewis
Flag
Rating: 1

Bad Reaction

posted 2 years ago

Nov. 1, 11..I applied the Vectra3D to my 1 year old golden retriever....and within hours she began to try and bite where the application sites were. The next two days it became worse, adding excitiabilty, scratching, and panting. Today I called the Vet and he told me to immediately wash the areas of application with Dawn Liquid detergent....and do not use that product anymore. What are we doing to our animals with all these unknown chemicals??? This is the 4th golden we have had since the 80's and I never had a problem like this....I am going back to the Mella Luca Oil that I put on my other 3 dogs with no side effects and if works...Natural is always better....

Pros: None

Cons: Horiffic

21 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Sandy Y.
Flag
Rating: 5

Good new product

posted 6 years ago

Kills fleas, kills and repels ticks and mosquitoes (although you will still want to use monthly heartworm preventative). Works quicky. Has a larger volume to apply compared with some of the other spot-on products. Beware that shampooing can wash it off.

Pros: fleas and ticks

Cons: large volume in applicator for big dog

23 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Patribella
Flag
Rating: 1

Warning!!!!

posted 3 years ago

My dog, who is treated for fleas 5 times a a year, and therefore "used" to flea products, had a HORRIBLE reaction to this flea treatment. My dog never had any bad reactions to Frontline or Advantage, but Vectra 3D is another story. Within 12 hours of application, my dog started itching like CRAZY at the application spots. But worse, 24 hours later, my dog started having panic attacks, panting horribly, acting extremely hyper active, scratching herself psychotically, etc. It was getting very scary. I bathed her to get the remaining Vectra 3d off of her immediately. I will NOT use this product again and I do NOT recommend Vectra 3D to anyone!

I looked up more reviews on Vectra from other websites, and apparantly a lot of people are having this reaction and worse.

Also, DO NOT USE THIS IN HOUSEHOLDS WITH CATS! VECTRA 3D IS EXTREMELY TOXIC TO CATS and even SLIGHT EXPOSURE CAN BE FATAL TO CATS.

-- additional:

[updated on 2010-11-11 13:40:25]:
My dog, who is treated for fleas 5 times a a year, and therefore "used" to flea products, had a HORRIBLE reaction to this flea treatment. My dog never had any bad reactions to Frontline or Advantage, but Vectra 3D is another story. Within 12 hours of application, my dog started itching like CRAZY at the application spots. But worse, 24 hours later, my dog started having panic attacks, panting horribly, acting extremely hyper active, scratching herself psychotically, skaing her head violently, etc. It was getting very scary. I bathed her to get the remaining Vectra 3d off of her immediately. I will NOT use this product again and I do NOT recommend Vectra 3D to anyone!

I looked up more reviews on Vectra from other websites, and apparently a lot of people are having this reaction and ever worse.

Also, DO NOT USE THIS IN HOUSEHOLDS WITH CATS! VECTRA 3D IS EXTREMELY TOXIC TO CATS and even SLIGHT EXPOSURE CAN BE FATAL TO CATS.
[updated on 2010-11-11 13:40:48]:
My dog, who is treated for fleas 5 times a a year, and therefore "used" to flea products, had a HORRIBLE reaction to this flea treatment. My dog never had any bad reactions to Frontline or Advantage, but Vectra 3D is another story. Within 12 hours of application, my dog started itching like CRAZY at the application spots. But worse, 24 hours later, my dog started having panic attacks, panting horribly, acting extremely hyper active, scratching herself psychotically, etc. It was getting very scary. I bathed her to get the remaining Vectra 3d off of her immediately. I will NOT use this product again and I do NOT recommend Vectra 3D to anyone!

I looked up more reviews on Vectra from other websites, and apparantly a lot of people are having this reaction and worse.

Also, DO NOT USE THIS IN HOUSEHOLDS WITH CATS! VECTRA 3D IS EXTREMELY TOXIC TO CATS and even SLIGHT EXPOSURE CAN BE FATAL TO CATS.

Pros: None!

Cons: Dangerous!

11 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Steph P.
Flag
Rating: 1

Vectra 3D doesn't work

posted 4 years ago

I have used K-9 Advantix since I got my puppy, and never had fleas. Last month, our vet informed us that they are no longer offering K-9 Advantix, and he switched us to Vectra 3D. Since starting the Vectra 3D, my dog has become flea infested. I followed the directions, and re-applied after 28 days, but still she has fleas. I am not happy with this product. My groomer told me to demand my money back, as she had to double -bathe the dog due to fleas.

Pros: no side effects

Cons: are flea infested after one month since switching

13 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›