Product:
Vectra 3D
Rating: 3.4

Average rating from 20 reviews.

Similar Products:
Carpet/Premise Spray for Fleas and Tick Plus
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 5 reviews.

Fly Free Zone Natural Fly Repellant Dog Collar

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Comfortis for Dogs
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

20 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Stephanie H.
Flag
Rating: 5

Vectra 3D - a New Product That Works

posted 6 years ago

This past summer my dogs had fleas really bad even though they were on Frontline Plus every month. Even my cats got fleas and they don't go outside. While I was talking to the vet about the problem a flea crawled across Blue's face. I said, "See, Frontline's not working!" I think it's possible that fleas become immune to medications after awhile just like viruses in humans do.

My vet told me about a new product - Vectra 3D. It is made by Summit VetPharm and says it repels fleas, ticks and mosquitoes. It also kills 96% of the fleas in 6 hours. I didn't time it, but it worked very quickly without any noticeable skin irritation and the fleas stayed gone for a good month. It's great stuff.

Pros: It worked where others failed, also got a rebate check

Cons: expensive

83 of 89 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Foodman1
Flag
Rating: 5

Forget Vectra, use ProMeris instead

posted 3 years ago

I have found that the Vectra and ProMeris product lines are both effective in the fight against pests on our fur child. However, Summit VetPharm, the makers of Vectra, only allow their Vectra products to be sold through a veterinarian. Since most people only have one veterinarian, there is no free market competition and the price of Vectra is obnoxiously high (As much as $20 per monthly dose when buying a years supply.) There is a website that has a comparison chart showing qualities of ProMeris and Vectra. ProMeris not only costs a lot less than Vectra (11.50 - $12.50 per dose), it can last up to 3 weeks longer than Vectra and ProMeris can also be used to effectively treat demodectic mange on dogs. That website is nomorefleasplease.com and on their home page, there is a tab for the ProMeris vs Vectra. Every product will have people who either love it or hate it so you really can't go by a review. What did not work for someone else may work incredibly for you. These products would not be on the market if they didn't work. Anyway, I hope you find this info useful.

Pros: Both work great

Cons: You can only Pay Vet prices for Vectra as it is not available online

39 of 51 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Alaina
Flag
Rating: 5

Works Great

posted 6 years ago

I got my puppy in the winter and didnt think anything of it, that he may get ticks while playing outside. Well he came in one day with 3 on him and then the next day with more on him. So I asked my vet which one she recommened (frontline or advantix) and she said neither. She recommoned Vectra. I put it on him and he hasnt had one tick or flea on him since.

The VET said that both of the other lines are good but ticks and fleas are becoming used to them. I believe Vectra 3D is on the newer side, alittle more expensive but works great.

Pros: Easy to use

Cons: Expensive

36 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Herburban
Flag
Rating: 5

New product with promise

posted 6 years ago

Vectra 3D is a new product by Summit VerPharm that promises to kill not only fleas and ticks but also repel mosquitos. While it is a new product and not yet widely used or available, it has proven to be effective and comes with a manufacturers guarantee by only distributing the product to veterinarians.

Pros: applicator tip, works on mosquitos

Cons: higher amount to dispense, not widely available

32 of 43 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Mixuone
Flag
Rating: 1

What's in this stuff?

posted 3 years ago

I have two 6 month old puppies and the vet gave us Vectra 3D to use so I've been applying it monthly. Tonight I spilled a few drops on my new dining room table and it ate right through the top coat. I have about 6 small round holes in the finish and I'm not sure if I'm mad because my table is ruined (or needs professional repair) or the fact that I've been putting this on my puppies for three months and it's obviously strong enough to eat through polyurethane or whatever they use on table tops. Is it just this product or are other flea and tick meds just as toxic? I used to use Frontline for my last dog that passed away last year, but the vet only carries Vectra 3D now.

Pros: Too new to say

Cons: Ate through the finish on my table

23 of 29 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›