Product:
Comfortis
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 16 reviews.

Similar Products:
Carpet/Premise Spray for Fleas and Tick Plus
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 5 reviews.

Fly Free Zone Natural Fly Repellant Dog Collar

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Comfortis for Dogs
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

12 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Amanda P.
Flag
Rating: 4

First time user...So far so good

posted 5 years ago

Like most people I've alternated between frontline & k-9 advantix for flea control on my dogs. This is my first experience with comfortis, but so far I am impressed. We live in the country and we do occasionally get fleas, ticks aren't much of a problem for our dogs in the yard but our cats wander far & they get ticks. The cats are on frontline, but since fleas are the only problem for our dogs we tried comfortis this month and it has been fabulous. One pill for each dog once monthly, it costs about the exact same as a single dose of frontline, very easy to give without the worry of when to or not to bathe them, and it seems to be working. Also, our dogs are both over 100 lbs, and like I say, it's not anymore expensive than similar flea products. It's not designed for ticks, so if you have ticks, I would recommend staying on frontline or advantix. If fleas are your only concerns though, I would definitely recommend someone trying this product. Our wolfhound has a flea allergy as well and since he's had the pill, his skin has cleared up a lot (not as red or itchy) and his face isn't constantly buried in his furr chewing on himself anymore, so it MUST be working!

Pros: Very easy to administer

Cons: Not effective against ticks

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Kate L.
Flag
Rating: 5

Good flea control

posted 5 years ago

The technicians at my vet office highly recommended this product so I tried it even though the idea of an oral flea medicine scares me a little. I live in Florida and had a terrible flea infestation last summer. I started my dog on Comfortis 2 months ago and I havne't seen a flea on him since. I started noticing a few on him before he started Comfortis but this medicine seems to take care of it. I had an awful flea infestation in my house last year and my poor dog had fleas on him all the time, even though he was on topical flea medicine. I'm anxious to see how Comfortis works as the flea season kicks into high gear in a few months.
Another great thing about this product is that I can bathe him any time without using special shampoo or worrying that I'll wash off his flea medicine.
Again, I try to go the more natural route when possible and it does scare me a little that this is an oral medication that kills fleas on his body. I don't know the mechanism for how it kills fleas but it just seems a little unnatural. I think I'll either educate myself more about this product or stop using it if I move to a less flea-infested area of the country.

Pros: No fleas, can give baths without worrying about washing product off

Cons: A little scary that it's an oral medicine that kills fleas

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

HillaryHaines
Flag
Rating: 5

Great product!

posted 5 years ago

I work at an animal hospital and got a sample of Comfortis to use for my dog. I am so glad they finally have a flea pill that actually kills fleas for a month long! It is a huge leap from Program (only sterilized the eggs, did NOT kill fleas) and Capstar (kills fleas fast, but only for 24 hours). My dog is not so crazy about the taste of these, but I can hide in other food. It is so nice to not worry about when I can bathe him or making sure the cats don't try to lick a topical off of him.

Pros: Oral

Cons: No tick protection

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Robin B.
Flag
Rating: 5

The best flea control ever!

posted 5 years ago

I tried Comfortis on the recomendation of a friend. I have white dogs, 1 Poodle/Maltese mix and 2 Bichons. I have to wash them more than once a month and the spot on flea treatments never lasted. Also one of my Bichons is allergic to the flea bites so he was miserable. I used the Comfortis and watched the fleas die and drop off my dogs within a half an hour. I will never use anything else.

Pros: Works past the 4 weeks.

Cons: None

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

susan h.
Flag
Rating: 5

This is a miracle pill

posted 5 years ago

MY DOGS WERE INFESTED WITH FLEAS. I TRIED EVERYTHING AND NOTHING WOULD WORK. MY SHEPHERD HAD A HUGE BALD SPOT ON HER BACK DUE TO THE FLEA INFESTATION. I FELT HORRIBLE. MY VET RECOMMENDED THIS PILL AND WITHIN A 1/2 HOUR THE FLEAS STARTED DISAPPEARING WITHING 24 HOURS NONE OF MY 3 DOGS HAD FLEAS. IT HAS BEEN 1 MONTH AND STILL NO FLEAS. I HAVE NEVER HAD ANYTHING WORK SO WONDERFULLY AS THIS MEDICATION. THE ONLY THING THAT I FEEL I SHOULD WARN U ABOUT IS THAT U NEED TO FEED THEM WHEN U GIVE THEM THIS PILL BECAUSE IT DOES MAKE THEM LETHARGIC AND A LITTLE WEIRD FOR THE FIRST DAY. AFTER THAT THEY ARE PERFECTLY FINE. THIS STUFF IS ABSOLUTELY UNBELIEVABLE!!!!! I AM SO HAPPY FOR MY PETS.

Pros: ONE PILL ONCE A MONTH, NO MESS

Cons: DOGS GET A LITTLE LETHARGIC AFTER GIVING IT TO THEM

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›