Product:
Rimadyl
Rating: 4.2

Average rating from 151 reviews.

Similar Products:
Phytogel
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Hot Spot Skin Redemy
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Kwik-Stop Styptic Formula
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 86 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

92 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 19 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Susan
Flag
Rating: 2

Worth it?

posted 6 years ago

Our little senior dog started to experience serious side effects from this medication, and we hadn't seen much improvement while he was on the medication. For him it just wasn't worth the side effects.

Pros: May decrease aches

Cons: Has serious side effects

23 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Beaglemutz
Flag
Rating: 5

Fantastic pain management

posted 6 years ago

One of my beagles is currently taking a 14 day course of Rimadyl. I have used it before for post op pain recovery but this is the first time I’ve used it as an anti-inflammatory. After just the first dose you could visibly see how much better she was feeling and acting. Rimadyl is the first pain management medication that was specifically designed for canines. You do have to watch liver values for those who take it for long periods of time. Other uses show no long term issues. The pills are a square-ish shape and my pups will take it like a treat without having to hide it in something. This is something to talk to your vet about to assist in pain management with your pups!

Pros: Pain management made for dogs

Cons: Possible liver issues with long term use

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Kprado
Flag
Rating: 5

Great Pain Relief

posted 6 years ago

I have had two experiences with this pain reliever with two different dogs. One had bone cancer & it gave her some quality of life time. The other dog had TPLO surgery for a severed ACL. Since they cut bone in this surgery she needed a great pain controller. The dog never missed a meal (many times pain keeps dogs from eating) & we had no problems with her chewing at her staples or stitches which were easy for her to reach. I had very positive results with this drug for short term use.

Pros: Good Pain Relief

Cons: Can create liver problems

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Poh4me
Flag
Rating: 4

Takes the edge off

posted 6 years ago

We had a "senior" foster dog a year ago that had arthritis. She was put on a low dose of Rimadyl and it made such a difference. If we missed a dose, you could tell in her movement that we had forgotten to give her the meds.

A good relatively low-cost arthritis medication.

Pros: Easy to give, effective, pretty inexpensive

Cons: Have to watch liver levels

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

betty p.
Flag
Rating: 4

Differ used this

posted 6 years ago

Differ went running a couple weeks ago and hurt her leg. (check out Differ getting her run on video). Well, right after that sunday of playing in the yard, Differ would not use her back left leg. So a trip to the vet on monday was a tear in her ACL. The vet put her on Rimadyl until we could get her in for surgery (which was on March 11th).

The Rimadyl really helped her get thru the pain and almost made her feel too good because on March 8th, she took off running again. We stopped her and I cut back a little on the Rimadyl. Too much of a good thing could have hurt her more.

I also don't like to use any meds long term and Rimadyl is one of them. There is so many side effects that worry me. So make sure to only use what your vet gives for the animal. And if like Differ and feeling too good is causing more damage, cut back and call the vet again.

Pros: helps with pain, dogs will eat it

Cons: not great for long term

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 19 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›