Product:
Wellness Core Dog Food
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 38 reviews.

More Products By Wellness:
Wellness Healthy Weight Adult Cat Food
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Wellness Indoor Health Adult Cat Food
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Wellness Healthy Indulgence Grain Free Cat Food Pouches

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 16 reviews.

See all (123) ›

Similar Products:
Castor & Pollux Organix Chicken and Brown Rice
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Keen
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Dr. Harvey's Canine Health Pre-Mix
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

22 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Ml
Flag
Ml
Rating: 5

Grain-Free Food with a Lower Amount of Protein Than Most

posted 6 years ago

Last week I bought this food for my dogs as a change. They all love it! None of them have had any gas or nasty poops. The ingredients are of the highest quality. There are no nasty preservatives. This company has not been involved in any pet food recalls.

This food has a lower protein level than the other grain-free foods, which is good if your dog is not actually working or competing.

The only downside is the price. If you join the Wellness Pet Club, you will get coupons emailed to you every month. Sometimes they are for food, other times for treats. You can also usually get coupons where you buy the food.

Pros: Excellent Ingredients, Grain-Free, Trusted Manufacturer

Cons: Expensive

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Alicebrowndog
Flag
Rating: 5

Finally, a food we can stick with

posted 5 years ago

my dog had diarrhea for seven months, from the time i weaned her onto kibble. we went through pro-plan, nutro, and blue in that order. finally took the plunge and went grain-free and after the first meal of core her stool was firm and normal! never thought i would be so excited about dog poop. haha.

alice loves this food, and she is thriving on it. her coat is nice, she is all muscle, it gives her the energy to run three miles, walk for a half hour, and play ball (three times a day!) every day.

the price is decent. i pay 9.00 for a 4 lb bag (i think it's 4 lbs...) and the small bag lasts me about a week. it is a little difficult to find core, but i think most independent pet stores should carry it. i get it from concord pet in delaware and the local pet depot. it can also be found to order online.

alice and i highly recommend wellness core!

Pros: grain-free, relatively affordable

Cons: a little difficult to find

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Katie B.
Flag
Rating: 4

Great Food, but Expensive

posted 6 years ago

I am so happy to have finally found a suitable diet for my difficult keeper. He's old, so I'm not comfortable with the 42% protein level of other grain-free diets, but he needs a dense, higher protein, higher fat food to keep weight on him and keep him from eating me out of house and home, and he has some allergy issues. It took a lot of searching, but Wellness Core is it. He's doing wonderfully on this food, loves it, doesn't have killer gas, and is keeping weight on. I am very happy with this product.

Pros: great quality, grain-free, moderately high protein, dogs love it

Cons: expensive

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Mokona
Flag
Rating: 5

Simply the best.

posted 5 years ago

I was feeding my dog a more expensive food that turned out to be nothing but fillers and low-quality ingredients.

After reading reviews at dogfoodanalysis.com, I decided to have my dog try this "6 Star" food instead. He's a Chihuahua (notoriously picky), and he absolutely loves it. He doesn't eat as much, since the meat content is higher, and the quality is much better. He's also stopped itching so much, which I never would've thought it had been caused from his food.

This food is well worth any cost. Feeding your dog a high-quality food now is going to save you in vet bills down the line.

Pros: high quality ingredients, all natural, no by-products, grainless, no fillers

Cons: None

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Stacey T.
Flag
Rating: 4

Good food

posted 5 years ago

I fed this food to one of my dogs while transitioning her to raw. I liked the food, and she seemed to like it as well. The ingredients are good, it's grain free, and a high quality food. It's also easy to find in any local pet store, especially now that Petco carries the Wellness line.

My only problem with this food was that it made her poop A LOT! Sorry if that's TMI, but she would go upwards of six times a day. I just felt it was too much, and I'm glad I was able to get her completely over to raw. However, if your dog doesn't have trouble it's a fantastic food.

Pros: Grain free, reasonably priced, readily available

Cons: Grain free isn't for every dog

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›