Product:
Herring and Sweet Potatoe
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 28 reviews.

Similar Products:
Castor & Pollux Organix Chicken and Brown Rice
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Keen
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Dr. Harvey's Canine Health Pre-Mix
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

13 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Bob C.
Flag
Rating: 4

Herring and Sweet Potatoe-- California Natural

posted 6 years ago

This food has a protein source of fish, which seems to be a growing trend in food. Also it has no wheat or rice which has been a source of contamination. I found that my 3 bullies like this food and that it helps keep my white pit bull from breaking out. I talked to a clerk at Bill Wonderland of Pets and she recommended trying a fish based dry dog food. So far this has been great. It does smell a bit fishy but as long as my pack likes it and keeps them lean and their coats looking glossy, I can put up with the oder. Their doggie f*rts are a bit rank but it is part of dog ownership.

Pros: Seems to clear up skin, new source of protein, no wheat

Cons: None-- has a very fishy oder

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Steve H.
Flag
Rating: 5

Rgeat food

posted 6 years ago

other than the fishy smell - this food has really helped our 14-yr old yorkie. She has allergies that the chicken meal and rice food seemed to have exacerbated. But she seems fine with this formula. great product!

Pros: great for our yorkie

Cons: fishy smell

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Whickums
Flag
Rating: 4

Good for allergic doggies

posted 5 years ago

This food is one of only 3 kibbles that my allergy stricken dog can eat. There are not a giant number of ingredients to sort through, and they bypass things like corn, soy, wheat, and rice which are all common allergens. The food is also fish based which is not commonly a cause of food allergies in dogs. The only downside is that because it is comprised of so few ingredients and the protein is fish you kind of lose out on optimal nutrition. You could find a better quality food if your dog doesn't have dietary restrictions.

Pros: Simple ingredient list- good for allergies

Cons: Simple ingredient list- lots of 'better quality' foods

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Bigolfatheaddog
Flag
Rating: 5

Love this food- Herring & Sweet Potato

posted 5 years ago

This is the best food for my dog I have tried, and I've tried all of the "premium" foods out there. By feeding this limited ingredient diet I was able to figure out exactly what proteins and grains made my dog have skin problems/allergies. He loves this fishy food! The ingredients are great and it is also a great value. I love California Natural as a company, and they also have caloric information on the bag which is not even required by law, but persnickety dog owners like myself want to know.

Pros: dog LOVES it, great for allergies, limited ingredients, natural

Cons: um, none!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Heather P.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great High quality food

posted 6 years ago

Great food from great manufacturer that was not involved in any way w/the recalls. My dogs have been eating California Natural for a long time. Clyde started on Healthwise puppy food (same company) and Brady swiched from Wellness after welleness changed thier formula and it upset his stomach. They have great coats, lots of energy and boy do they love thier food... after they are done eating thier meal they switch bowls and make sure the other didn't leave any :)

Pros: limited/high quality ingredients for allergy dogs,

Cons: NONE

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›