Product:
Eagle Pack Holistic Select Senior Dog Food
Rating: 4.7

Average rating from 9 reviews.

More Products By Eagle:
Eagle Pack Holistic Select Small & Mini Breed Formula Dog Food
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Eagle Natural Dog Food
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 5 reviews.

Eagle Pack Super Premium Dog Food Original Formula
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

See all (45) ›

Similar Products:
Castor & Pollux Organix Chicken and Brown Rice
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Keen
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Dr. Harvey's Canine Health Pre-Mix
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

5 reviews

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Jodi S.
Flag
Rating: 5

An extremely good premium senior food

posted 5 years ago

On my last trip to get pet food, I couldn't find the brand I wanted, so I opted to try the Eagle Pack Holistic Select Senior dog food. My pack has had success with some of the other Eagle Pack formulas, and I knew that the kibble is high quality.

So far the dogs seem to look and feel better since I switched over to a mixture of the Eagle Pack Senior and Wellness Core. Their coats are softer and fluffier, and they have more energy. The downside is that both types of food can be expensive at around $50 per large bag. I also had to drive to a speciality pet food store to find Eagle Pack.

I'm willing to pay extra and drive around since my dogs are doing so well on the Eagle Pack Holistic Select Senior food, but it might be more work than the average pet owner wants to go through to keep his or her pet fed.

Pros: Dogs love it, low fat allows dogs to get more kibble per serving, high quality ingredients

Cons: Only available at speciality pet stores, pricey

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Diana L.
Flag
Rating: 4

Looks like great ingred.

posted 5 years ago

I agree that you want to see chicken meal rather than chicken as first ingred. when you are feeding this food. It is all about marketing, people want to see chicken rather than chicken meal even though the best would be chicken meal. I do not live far from this plant and I want to go on a tour if they have them. There are a lot of ingredients in Holistic foods and many times that is not a good thing as it is hard to isolate if your dog is allergic to something. Holistic is another broad term that really does not mean a lot.

Pros: Chicken meal not chicken

Cons: A lot of ingredients

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Sheltervt
Flag
Rating: 5

One of the unsung heros

posted 5 years ago

of pet nutrition. Eagle Pack is one of the many companies that the average pet owner has never heard of, and that's a shame. Eagle Pack is one of the few companies that understands that senior dogs actually need good protein levels to preserve their muscle density and ensure proper kidney function. It would be better if they used whole potatos/sweet potatos or whole grain brown rice as a fiber source than the beet pulp filler that they do use, but that's the only bad thing I can say about this otherwise fantastic food.

Pros: great ingredients

Cons: does use beet pulp as an empty filler/fiber

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Tina
Flag
Rating: 5

Eagle Pack is the BEST!

posted 5 years ago

We are so conscious of where our dogs' food comes from and the ingredients and this is by far the best for my overweight and aged beagle. She recently had ACL surgery and had to drop some weight and we put her on this food so she could get her nutrition while healing. Thanks Shelly at Natures Pet for recommending because this has been a blessing. Our chunky monkey has lost 5lbs since her surgery almost 3months ago and just loves this food.

-- additional:

[updated on 2009-01-26 15:12:48 GMT]:
This is the best food! We have a senior dog who needed to drop some weight for an ACL surgery. She was on Rx Purina food from the Vet. We ran out and the Vet was closed so we went to the Natural Pet Store in Hanover, PA and the owner said that this food was most similar to what we were using (and better). Now we are hooked. Our dog has lost weight and she gobbles this food up!

Pros: Holistic & Must be Tasty

Cons: None

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Andrea D.
Flag
Rating: 4

Good Food

posted 5 years ago

Eagle pack is a great dog food. It has lower protein for the older dog and a bit more fiber. Good poop consistency. Easy transition from regular food to this one.

Pros: Good for dogs

Cons: None

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›