Product:
Interceptor Heartworm medication
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 39 reviews.

Similar Products:
Worm Protector Double Strength
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 4 reviews.

Closasole
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

PetAg Equine Bene-Bac Gel
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

30 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
J O.
Flag
Rating: 4

Good Heartworm Preventative

posted 5 years ago

Only one vet here in town sells this. I switched on their recommendation bc it is a preventative for more than just heartworms. However, it doesn't always work, and my dogs picked up another worm, most likely from eating horse manure. The company reimburses for the fecal sample and medication, though. It is still effective for the heartworms, juts not great for other worms when your dogs are frequently sneaking horse apples. It is a small chewable pill that looks unappealing, but the dogs love them.

Pros: kills other types of worms also

Cons: availability

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Kelsey S.
Flag
Rating: 5

Good Preventative

posted 5 years ago

I began using Interceptor for one of my dogs when he had bad reactions to Hartguard (diarrhea, vomiting, etc.). We have never had a problem on Interceptor and he has not gotten heartworms, so it appears to be effective. It is a small pill that he eats readily when it is hidden in his dinner, but it is not a tasty treat like Hartguard, either. I give it to him with a meal to reduce stomach upset.

Pros: seems to work, easy on stomach

Cons: (none)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

alisa l.
Flag
Rating: 4

Kill whip worm

posted 5 years ago

If you have ever dealt with whip worms -- they live forever in the soil and can infect a dog at any time. The dog gets the worm when grooming after walking on infected soil. Interceptor takes care of the worm before it infects the dog. Great stuff

Pros: kills several paracites

Cons: none

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Nancy C.
Flag
Rating: 5

Protect your dog's health

posted 5 years ago

My dogs have been on this medication for a decade now. We originally started this for whipworms which are extremely hard to get rid of in the yard. Comes in different strengths according to the dogs weight. Also, stickers are available to put on the calendar to remind you of the next month's due date. Company offers yearly $10 rebates per dog.

Pros: chewable form

Cons: dog has to be tested yearly, medicate each month

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Jon B.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great taste

posted 5 years ago

This is the only heartworm preventative I have ever used for my dogs. They like the flavored tablets and don't mind taking them at all. They think it's a treat. I recommend interceptor to anyone who has problems getting their pets to take medication.

Pros: taste good

Cons: none

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›