Product:
Petz Life Oral Care Gel
Rating: 4.6

Average rating from 7 reviews.

Similar Products:
Natural nubz dental  dog chews
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 9 reviews.

St.jon Naturals
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Petrodent Natural dog toothpaste
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

5 reviews

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Sistertex
Flag
Rating: 5

Good Stuff.

posted 5 years ago

I have been using this for quite sometime and really like using it better than the 'other' toothpastes for pets....the meat kind and so on.

It comes in a clear plastic bottle and you simply tip it upside down pop open the tab and squeez onto the brush. (or finger appliance if that is what you use). It works best if the pet's teeth you are brushing doesn't eat or drink an hour before or after using.

It is a gel, not pasty, so it spreads all through the mouth much better through the animals saliva than other kinds of tooth paste. This is a definate plus when it comes to the bacteria and such that causes tartar...breaking it down, but still you need to brush the teeth and gums to help stimulate the gums and remove tartar already in place.

The dogs don't seem to mind it at all and I believe it comes in a couple of flavors, one being salmon.

Pros: Dogs don't mind it. Easy to use. Does a good job.

Cons: Pricey for a Multi-Hound Home.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Betsy
Flag
Rating: 4

Petz Life Oral Gel for Dogs and Cats

posted 6 years ago

I bought this for my 3 dogs because they hate the tootbrush. I read about this on a natural pet site and thought I'd give it a try. I went to our newest pet store, Barkery Boutique, and found this there. It was $25.00 but that's what it was on any website. It is easy to apply...I put it on my finger and rub it on their teeth. The dogs are okay with it but get over the taste fast. It is mint scented. From what the directions say...apply for 8 days and then on day 8 use a toothbrush to loosen up the plaque. So far we are on day 3 (x 3 dogs). Molly has the worse plaque so I will use her as a model after day 8. I thought I'd give this a try.

Pros: Tartar and Plaque breakdown, freshens breath, easy to apply, healthy

Cons: expensive

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Leah G.
Flag
Rating: 4

Better than those meat-toothpastes!

posted 5 years ago

I bought this b/c I have a greyhound, and their teeth are notoriously bad.

When we use it regularly, we do notice a difference in the thin build-up of "stuff," but it has not done anything to remove the harder plaque that is at the gumline.

It is a nice consistency--not sticky and gross like the other pet tooth products. And it's minty instead of meaty! It is kind of expensive, but I do think it works better than the other pastes we've tried.

It would be best as a preventative if your dog has clean teeth, or if they've recently had a dental cleaning. We will start to use it more religiously after we've had the vet clean her teeth and gumline.

It DOES have grain alcohol in it, but our vet recommended it, so I'm assuming that's not terrible.

Pros: Easy to use, smells better than usual dog toothpaste

Cons: expensive, grain alcohol??

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Swannyjeremy
Flag
Rating: 5

Good product

posted 5 years ago

I'm in charge of tooth-brushing at our house, and this gel is much easier (and less gross) to use than those meat-flavored pastes.

It is easy to use on the toothbrush, and we are seeing results--dog's breath is barely noticeable now, and the brown deposits are getting smaller and smaller.

I've been brushing her teeth 5 days a week for the last month or so, and it's really making a difference. This stuff does cost more than other pastes, but it seems like it is working better too.

Pros: Improving dog's teeth

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Meghan M.
Flag
Rating: 5

Works

posted 5 years ago

i bought this stuff because my dogs hate when i brush their teeth...i really like it it smells so minty and fresh and it works!!!

Pros: smells minty

Cons: none yet

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›