Product:
Drinkwell Platinum Fountain
Rating: 4.7

Average rating from 33 reviews.

More Products By Drinkwell:
Drinkwell Pet Fountain Reservoir
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 14 reviews.

Drinkwell Replacement Filter Cartridges
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 5 reviews.

Drinkwell Pet Fountain
Rating: 4.6

Average rating from 21 reviews.

See all (25) ›

Similar Products:
Philosophy on Life Prints
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Pet Memorial & Garden Stones
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

glass pet portraits
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

25 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Neubertma
Flag
Rating: 5

Drinkwell Fountain

posted 6 years ago

This fountain provides fresh water all day and night for pets. Mine used to like to drink from the faucet - and I used to have to wait and watch. This is much more effective! It's kind of a pain to clean (getting the hard water stains out, for example).

Pros: Lifesaver for busy pet owners

Cons: Messy to clean

19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Roguesqdldr
Flag
Rating: 5

Great for getting your cats fresh water

posted 6 years ago

I purchased this item when my cat developed the desire to drink from our leaky faucet. We had the faucet repaired and it bummed her out. This was the solution. She loves it and no longer cries at the old leaky faucet. It is easy to assemble and operate. The other cat plays in it like it is a toy. Very amusing. I lover the fact that my cats have a clean fresh source of water 24/7. Even when I am out of town. It has also increased the amount of water they drink which is important for healthy kidneys.

The biggest drawback is one of my animals has a tendancy to develop acne. My vet told me plastic probably causes it. The compromise is that I just have to run the whole item through the dishwasher every couple days to make sure it stays clean. He seems to do much better with this one then he did with the old petmate we had before.

The only other drawback is the cost of the replacement filters. It isn't cheap, still, my cats are worth it.

Pros: a toy as well as a drink

Cons: all plastic parts can lead to acne, cost

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

teresa d.
Flag
Rating: 5

Keeps cat hydrated

posted 6 years ago

I have a cat with renal failure and this encourages her to drink and stay hydrated reducing the amount of subQ fluid she needs.

Pros: Encourages cats to drink more

Cons: Requires maintenance and cleaning

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Printer1639
Flag
Rating: 1

This is the best ever water fountain

posted 6 years ago

I have one of three cats that used to get idiopathic cystitis every winter in February. The vet said the cure of this annual problem was to encourage water consumption. This product did the trick. Although the cost was right up there it was still less than one trip to the vet. I have to laugh because the "boys" drink from the bowl part but the "girl" drinks right from the falling water. The sound makes me laugh every time.

Pros: design, large reservoir, just everything

Cons: none

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Stephanie  F.
Flag
Rating: 3

Drinkwell Platinum - is it worth the $?

posted 6 years ago

I bought one of the new DrinkWell Platinum model pet drinking fountains because I have an immuno-comprimised cat, and I thought it would help to have a healthier water source. The pump motor is very loud, which scares the cats away from it. It takes awhile for an animal to get brave enough to go up to this new water fountain. It is great that you can adjust the speed at which the water is circulated, my crew prefers a trickle over splashing. The kittens don't particularly like it to drink from, but with the relatively large drinking area, it does make for a nice place to soak toys :). The fountain is well constructed, and is easy to clean as it is dishwasher friendly. I'm not sure that the price is justifiable at over $50.

Pros: fresh water, doesn't splash, aerated water, multiple speed pump, dishwasher safe

Cons: expensive to purchase, loud motor, startles the animals

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›