Product:
NEW! Premier Collar
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 42 reviews.

More Products By Premier Pet Products:
Ultimate Puppy Toolkit
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Tennis Tug Dog Toy
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

Tiny Squirrel Tennis Tail
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

See all (167) ›

Similar Products:
Lupine Dog Leash - Bling Bonz
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 53 reviews.

Bolduc Custom Leatherworks
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 9 reviews.

Lupine Ruby Cube Padded Handle Lead
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 8 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

35 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Carrihound
Flag
Rating: 5

Premier collars (w/o plastic clasp

posted 7 years ago

These are nylon collars that slip on over the dog's head, so they have no plastic clasp. Clasps can fail & pinch fingers, so I do not miss having a clasp on the collar. I first became aware of these collars in my work with greyhounds about 8 years ago and since then I've come to love them because they do not allow a dog to pull backwards out of the collar. This is an essential feature with sighthounds and any dog that is not reliably on voice recall off-leash. The collar has a loop built in that works as humane choke control when strained (the D-ring leash attachment is centered on the nylon loop, so the loop pulls snug when the dog pulls). It gives a handler an added element of control without resorting to an awful chain metal choke-collar.

While they can be difficult to find in stores, these collars are becoming more common and are always available through mail order online. I use the collar with a riveted, engraved brass tag that includes all pertinent information (names, contacts, registration & rabies) for a completely silent tag & collar combination.

Pros: cinches without hurting, dogs can't back out of them, durability, quiet

Cons: can be hard to find in stores

34 of 34 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

dawn  h.
Flag
Rating: 1

Premier collar is a great collar!

posted 6 years ago

The Premier collar is better than a traditional choke collar in that it is made of a softer material, not a chain. It is great for controlling a strong dog. But most importantly, the dog can't back out of this collar-it tightens when he/she tries! I've had my dog manage to get out of his collar- even when it is on tight(his neck is actually bigger than his head!!! ). This can be scary- your dog could run out in the road and get hit by a car. This is a great collar!!!!

Pros: strong,good for controlling a strong dog, more humane wayto train dog

Cons: hard to find at pet stores- always sold out

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Mike R.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great All-Around Collar

posted 7 years ago

The Premier collar is a martingale style collar that is very durable. I use one regularly to walk and train dogs at the shelter. When fitted properly it is impossible for the dog to slip out of it and it is more comfortable than a slip collar.

When mine gets dirty, I just throw it in the laundry and it comes out good as new. My one dog has worn his for two years with no sign of wearing out.

Pros: Sturdy and Durable

Cons: Can be difficult to fit

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Christy M.
Flag
Rating: 5

Best collar out there!

posted 5 years ago

I had never heard of these no-slip (martingale) collars until I started volunteer at the AHS. They don't have any clips, it just slides over your dogs head. Once you know how to properly adjust it for the right fit, these become the best collar out there. It adjusts so your dog can't slip back out of it (like many dogs do with a simple flat collar). I also like the fact that they can't bust apart. Many of the larger dogs I work with can pull quite hard, and I never have to worry about the collar breaking.

On a side note, they do make a version that breaks apart. These are helpful if your dog has a chance of getting stuck on a fence or another object, and you want the collar to break so the dog doesn't strangle.

There are other brands of martingale collars, but I really prefer the Premier brand. I've used sitstay.com to order matching collars and leashes (same color) for my Ginny.

Pros: Great fit, no slip collar

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Cathy J.
Flag
Rating: 5

Excellent collar for control & safety

posted 5 years ago

Premier collars are similar to choke collars, but are much more humane. They are adjustable, and they slip over a dog's head rather than closing with a buckle. They are designed to tighten up as a dog pulls, but since they are made of nylon, they do not hurt the dog like a choke collar can.

I use a premier collar on my own dog, and we also use them at the shelter where I volunteer. I love the safety factor that dogs cannot back out of the collar, because we walk dogs in a field along a busy highway, and if a dog were to get loose and run into the street, it could be very dangerous. If the collar is adjusted correctly, it doesn't loosen up enough for a dog to remove it accidentally.

They come in MANY solid colors, but the artist in me wishes that they were available in patterns as well.

Pros: durable, safe

Cons: only comes in solid colors

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›