Product:
Mighty Link Chain Training Collar
Rating: 4.0

Average rating from 20 reviews.

More Products By Aspen Pet:
Aspen Pet; SignatureTM Fashion Collar and Lead
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 6 reviews.

Booda Soft-Bite Terry Moose & Elephant Dog Toys

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

Aspen Pet Signature Nylon Leash
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

See all (211) ›

Similar Products:
Lupine Dog Leash - Bling Bonz
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 53 reviews.

Bolduc Custom Leatherworks
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 9 reviews.

Lupine Ruby Cube Padded Handle Lead
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 8 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

14 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
George P.
Flag
Rating: 3

Okay for some dogs with the right owner

posted 6 years ago

My friend uses this collar on his pit bull. Now mind you, he has had dogs forever it seems. (He is now in his 40's). So for over 25 years, he has trained the family pet.

On some of the dogs a regular choker chain was used. Some just a flat nylon collar. And a couple of them a Prong Collar was used.

The reason he picked the prong collar was after taking to a couple trainers, both recommended trying a prong collar. They taught him the proper way of using it so the dog does not get hurt.

I personally would not use one, but then again, I was never taught how to use one.

Prong collars are good for some dogs, but not all dogs. And never with an owner who does not know how to use them.

Pros: works for some dogs with right trainer

Cons: not the best in my opinion

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Schropp18
Flag
Rating: 5

Even though it looks awful, great training tool

posted 6 years ago

My Pit Bull acts so well behaved when this collar is on. When I first bought it all I could think is "this looks like it should be abuse" but then when I used it on my Pit Bull, it was amazing. She is a horrible puller and she is a lot stronger than me. But as soon as I put this on her, she pulled once, and did not pull again. The only down fall is that the collar just looks so....cruel.

Pros: Great for leash training, well built

Cons: looks horrible

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Bob C.
Flag
Rating: 3

In the hands of the instructed an ok product

posted 6 years ago

Alot of people will be on my case for even saying this product is ok. But if you know how to walk a dog with a loose leash and pop the leash which gives the dog a correction this is a good tool..

Now the bad part. I see people walking there dogs with these with the dog out front pulling away.. with the prongs cutting into the neck..

You must let the dog know what it is like to walk with a loose leash... then once they get to far ahead you correct them..

This is a good communication tool in the right hands. but overall most people do not know how to use this.

Pros: I you know what you are doing ok

Cons: In the hands of the uninstructed terrible

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Don
Flag
Don
Rating: 5

Works on bigger dogs

posted 6 years ago

This collar is to be used only when training the dog to walk on a leash. It is not a collar to be worn all the time. My daughter's dog walks nicely with this collar on - without it he is too much to handle.

Pros: Works for my daughter

Cons: looks terrible

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

J O.
Flag
Rating: 4

Effective

posted 5 years ago

Despite the bad reputation these have, I love them. I have tried different things, and end up going back to these. Some would say I wouldn't need them if I took the time to train my dogs, but when you are under 130 lbs and walk three dogs, you need some help at times. My dogs walk well on the leash, but if they decide to be stupid over a squirrel, bird, another dog, this collar gives me the control I need.

I no longer use it on one dog on regular walks, but use it when we go to the vet or anyplace else. The other dog always walks in it now. I tried a no pull harness, whih worked ok, but this works better. The collar allows me to keep his head up when I want, and he can still lunge with the harness before it stops him. He doesn't do that in this collar. The third dog wears a halti or the prong, I switch back and forth.

Pros: effective, strong, adjustable

Cons: can be cruel

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›