Product:
Canine Seat Belt
Rating: 4.3

Average rating from 11 reviews.

More Products By Aspen Pet:
Aspen Pet; SignatureTM Fashion Collar and Lead
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 6 reviews.

Booda Soft-Bite Terry Moose & Elephant Dog Toys

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

Aspen Pet Signature Nylon Leash
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

See all (211) ›

Similar Products:
Lupine Dog Leash - Bling Bonz
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 53 reviews.

Bolduc Custom Leatherworks
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 9 reviews.

Lupine Ruby Cube Padded Handle Lead
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 8 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

8 reviews

1 | 2 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Elineen
Flag
Rating: 5

Great idea

posted 6 years ago

This is a great idea for keeping dogs safe in the car. They are not always that thrilled to be wearing them, but safety comes first.

Pros: safety

Cons: a little cumbersome

25 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Jeanerz13
Flag
Rating: 4

Great Safety and Walking Harness

posted 5 years ago

I got this harness almost 2 years ago. I have had absolutely no problems with it. I love that it has a metal loop on it so you can clip a leash onto it. When I got it, I knew that I wanted to get a harness for walking as well (I didn't want to choke my dog when I pull her back on the leash) and it was great to find a safety harness that doubled for a regular walking harness.

The durability and strength of the harness seem good to me, but to be fair, my dog doesn't fight it that much.

I think the canine seat belt is a great way to allow your pet to be transported without being confined to a crate. Also, it allows the dog to stand up in the back seat and look out the window without any worry of him/her falling when you hit the brakes. I've known people to train their pets to brace themselves on command (for when the car is about to slow down or turn) and I find this to be a much more convenient (and probably more reliable) way to protect the dog in the car.

The seat belt is also a good way to keep small dogs from crawling up into the front seat. I picked up someone's toy poodle from the boarder for them. This dog had become accustomed to riding on her owner's lap and I was having none of that. As I was about to back out, the little dog crawled to the front and got down around my feet. Thankfully, I wasn't on the road at this point, but it was not a fun trip home trying to keep the dog in the back seat with no kind of restraint. I told the owner that I would not drive with that dog again unless they got a seat belt harness for her.

The only problem I've found with the harness is that some places you take your dog (groomer, vet to boarded, etc) may not understand how to put the harness on. This can be a hassle when you have to take it off and put it back on yourself, but it isn't that big of a deal if you don't leave the harness with your pet when you drop him/her off.

It is reasonably priced...I think I paid about $15 for the harness 2 years ago. You can find it at PetCo.

Pros: easy to use, multi purpose

Cons: other people may have trouble figuring out how to put it on

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Avi
Flag
Avi
Rating: 3

Important for safety but imperfect design

posted 6 years ago

We live in a city so we are constantly stopping and starting when we drive and I was always looking over to make sure my dog was safe thereby causing both of us to be unsafe. I did some research and decided on this seat belt halter. It is very easy to use and it certainly keeps my dog safely in the back seat. However my dog often gets tangled in it. He is a calm dog and loves sitting quietly in the car but if he turns around facing the seat rather than the front of the car the halter and the seat belt get all tangled and he can not free himself. I am afraid that one day he will get hurt. We now attach the halter to the middle seat belt which gives him a bigger turning radius on either side. This definitely helps but I think I will continue to look for a product that is a little less nerve racking.
I tried to walk him once with the leash attached to the halter but the halter kept shifting and I had no control. It wasn't safe so I won't do it again.

Pros: Keeps my dog safe

Cons: gets tangled up

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Jen B.
Flag
Rating: 4

Should be required for all pets

posted 6 years ago

I've been using this for 8 years now and I think they're great. We did have one whose plastic buckle cracked, I'd rather see something a little more sturdy, but it does great keeping the dogs in the back seat and should there be an accident, I believe it will keep them safe. As a note, due to the long dangling strap this should never be worn unless you are supervising your dog. Also note, one of my dogs is an escape artist and can sometimes wiggle out of her harness, so they aren't fool-proof. The other dog wanted so bad to sit in the front seat that she broke the seat belt retractor mechanism in our car. We moved her to the type that has a seat belt buckle built in. Overall a great product and all pets should be buckled in for their safety and the driver's safety.

Pros: Keeps pets in their seats

Cons: Plastic buckles worry me

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Erica M.
Flag
Rating: 4

Useful for Car Rides

posted 5 years ago

This harness lets me take my dog, Sam, in the car safely. It fits like a regular harness, but has a loop on the back through which you put the car's seat belt. It keeps Sam in the back seat, but lets him change positions. It can be used as a walking harness also.

It took a little getting used for Sam. At first, he was getting his legs tangled in the car's seat belt that was attached to the harness. When he gets excited and active in the car, he can still get a leg tangled sometimes. Also, he has stepped on the "button" where you attach the car's seat belt buckle. This releases the buckle and he can then pull the harness so that the car's seat belt comes out of the harness loop. Then you have a free moving dog, though he is still in the harness.

Pros: Safe for dog, driver & passengers; Can be used for walking too

Cons: Dog can be tangled in car's belt; dog may get out

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›