Product:
Nylabone Durable Bone
Rating: 4.2

Average rating from 85 reviews.

More Products By Nylabone:
RHINO CONE GIANT ASST
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Nylabone Cheeky Squeaky Pets - Winston Wonderpug
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Nylabone Cheeky Squeaky Pets - Bella Behave
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

See all (395) ›

Similar Products:
atopical
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

Colorado Naturals Mutt-N-Chops Lamb Treats for Dogs
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

Bone Buddies Porky Treats
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

68 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 14 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Hymcheng
Flag
Rating: 3

Okay

posted 6 years ago

My parents' dog LOVES getting her dog bone treats, but she's also a tad impatient. If she can't snarf it down in under a minute, she will lose interest rather quickly thereafter. Needless to say, she doesn't really enjoy Nylabone.

Pros: none

Cons: none

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Michelle M.
Flag
Rating: 4

Some like um, some don't I guess!

posted 6 years ago

I bought a couple of these. My dog liked it, but I gave the other one to a friends dog, and he didn't want to have anything to do with it.

Pros: Last long

Cons: some dogs don't like them

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Lois
Flag
Rating: 4

Nylabone Super with Knuckle End

posted 6 years ago

We have used Nylabones for a number of years for our dogs and there is usually a pile of them in our main living area. We try to have at least one for each dog and leave them out for them to chew when ever they want. When one of our four dogs starts to chew on one, the others often start too. It is not unusual for them to trade bones with each other. We are very fortunate they are really great about sharing. Once in awhile our boy Toby will be chewing on a Nylabone and his Mom Sizzle will want his bone. She will bark at him and he ignores her - in time after a number of barks he lets her have it. When Sizzle has a bone that Shelby wants, Shelby just runs over and takes it right out of her mouth. Sizzle is so great to let her do it: Sizzle will then go over to the pile of bones and get a new one or start barking at Toby to give her his. It is interesting that our dogs usually chew on their Nylabones when the whole family is together. I often wash the bones with an old toothbrush and liquid dish soap; rinsing well. Our dogs have the chicken flavor bones which I have found do not stain the carpets. Nylabones last a long time and are reasonably priced.

Pros: No splintering, Lasts a long time, Doesn't stain carpets, Can be Washed, Dogs Love to Chew them.

Cons: Chewing can cause small pieces of Nylabone to be rough and somewhat sharp.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

dawn  h.
Flag
Rating: 4

Nyla bones are great for chewers!

posted 6 years ago

Nyla bones are nice- my dog likes to chew on these, but they can make dog have upset tummy-my dog vomited and he was only allowed to chew for 30 min. on it! He really likes it though, so I give it to him for 10 min once a day. Also, it can break into little pieces, so I have to vacuum after my dog chew on it. Over all, it is a good treat for my dog - and it is fairly durable.

Pros: good tasting, lasts a while

Cons: can upset dogs tummy, leaves behind little pieces

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Dr. Amy L.
Flag
Rating: 1

Watch out for broken teeth

posted 5 years ago

I initially purchased Nylabones for my own pups. They weren't too interested unless I dipped them in peanut butter or cream cheese. Now, I'm glad, since I've seen multiple dental fractures associated with Nylabone products.

Our local dental specialist does not endorse the use of Nylabones. In addition, at last year's dental conference, one of the Veterinary Dentists who was speaking referred to a photo of a fractured tooth as "Nylabone toxicity".

We had one client with a middle-aged yellow lab with a fresh slab fracture of his upper right carnasseal tooth that extended above the gumline. We surgically extracted the tooth and told the owner to take away the Nylabone. When the dog returned the next week for his recheck, he had fractured his opposite carnasseal! The owner didn't think the Nylabone was the source of the problem, so he didn't take it away. We had to extract the other tooth as well. Finally, the owner took away the Nylabone.

There is no perfect toy for every dog and there are certain pups where I offer Nylabones as an option. Crazy dogs that tear through other chewies or bones and that drive their owners batty looking for something to do are candidates for Nylabones. They are safer than real bones - at least they don't swallow chunks that have to be retrieved surgically. And, they do absorb more shock than real bone, so are a bit less likely to break teeth. Finally, they won't be contaminated with E. coli or Salmonella like butcher bones often are.

Pros: lasts a long time, can give crazy dogs something to do

Cons: watch for fractured teeth, some dogs aren't interested

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 14 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›