Product:
Low Salt Green Beans
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 30 reviews.

Similar Products:
Retriever Beef Chunks Dinner Canned Dog Food
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Retriever Country Chicken Dinner Canned Dog Food
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Skippy Premium Strips in Gravy with Chicken
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

24 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Jodi S.
Flag
Rating: 4

A good choice for a weight loss additive

posted 5 years ago

I supplemented my dogs' food with low salt green beans for a long time since my smaller guys, particularly the corgi/lab mixes, are prone to weight gain. With the addition of the green beans, they felt like they were getting more food, but I was able to keep the kibble amount low enough to avoid porking up.

Suzuka, however, really didn't care for the green beans, and she would pick out her kibble and other food and leave the green beans behind. Even when there was yogurt in the bowl, she'd suck the yogurt off the green beans and then spit them back out!

The other three dogs thought they were wonderful, and the low salt version prevented unnecessary sodium intake and water retention.

If you're trying to get weight off your pet, adding green beans and cutting back on kibble is one tested method. It's certainly worth a shot!

Pros: Easily available at grocery stores, relatively cheap, keeps dogs feeling full

Cons: Some dogs dislike taste, don't always digest well

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Elizabeth  M.
Flag
Rating: 5

Beans are Good!!

posted 5 years ago

Of course fresh beans would be better but not nearly so convenient. I think dogs and cats need more real food and these particular beans are really low cal so that's an extra bonus if you have an overweight dog. I also give my dogs regular string beans, peas, carrots and whatever is on sale at the store!!

Pros: Good food value

Cons: none

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Anne S.
Flag
Rating: 5

Natural and nutritious

posted 5 years ago

I have used low salt green beans in my dogs diet when he needed a more bland diet. I would cook chicken, brown rice and add some low salt green beans and carrots. He loved them in his meal.
Like people, some dogs don't like green beans. I think in small amounts they are a good addition to the diet.

Pros: Healthy, natural addition to diet

Cons: not all dogs like them

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

MomPeeples
Flag
Rating: 5

Good "diet" food

posted 5 years ago

Green beans are a great addition to the diet to increase bulk (ie "full dog") without increasing calories. I use it often when trying to get my dogs to lose weight.

Problem is that some dogs don't like it. A little garlic powder (just a little) will often help with taste.

Pros: Low calories, good filler

Cons: some dogs won't eat them

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Melissa  J.
Flag
Rating: 5

Good for dogs with Wheat allergy

posted 6 years ago

Green beans are a great additive for dogs over weight and for dogs allergic to wheat products. Dogs with a wheat allergy are usually lacking chloryphil i know i spelled that wrong but the green beans give them what they are missing and being low salt is great for their health.

Pros: Great for any dog

Cons: some dogs dont like them

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›