Product:
Basic Training Puppy Tieout
Rating: 3.2

Average rating from 6 reviews.

More Products By Basic Training:
Basic Training Nylon Muzzle
Rating: 4.7

Average rating from 12 reviews.

Basic Training Dog Tie-Out Trolley with with Tie-Out Cable
Rating: 4.7

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Basic Training Dome Stake with Tie Out
Rating: 4.7

Average rating from 3 reviews.

See all (20) ›

Similar Products:
Magnum Dog Kennels
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 12 reviews.

Puppy-Penz
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 4 reviews.

Precision Pet Dog Crate
Rating: 4.7

Average rating from 17 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

5 reviews

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Psst
Flag
Rating: 5

When you need to tie up your puppy

posted 7 years ago

If you're camping or at a park, this tieout keeps your puppy safe while allowing him freedom to move about and be part of the action. The ends swivel and the chain does not kink, so he does not get entangled. It's better than using rope.

Pros: Security for your pup

Cons: None

19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Cassie3
Flag
Rating: 1

Caused Anxiety, Confusion, and Frustration

posted 5 years ago

We tried this with our GSD when she was a puppy. This only caused anxiety and extreme frustration for our puppy. BASED ON MY PERSONAL EXPERIENCE, it was more of an obstruction than anything.

Of course, I cannot imagine anyone using this tieout as an alternative to a fenced-in yard for a baby dog. As a training device, it was worthless and caused more harm than good FOR OUR GSD PUPPY.

Perhaps it might work as a tool in training other breeds.

[As an aside to this review (not to be confused and/or included as part of the review), since this isn't a cage, but a tieout, why is there a rating for "look of cage?"]

Pros: NONE

Cons: Obstruction to Training

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Kelsey S.
Flag
Rating: 2

Not My Favorite

posted 5 years ago

If you don't have a fence or are on the move, a tie-out is a great thing to look into. However, I am reluctant to leave a dog, especially a puppy, alone on a tie-out, as it can easily become tangled; this is not only uncomfortable, but potentially dangerous.

I did not try this tie-out for long (I ended up using a long training lead attached to a post), but in my experience, it was difficult to straighten out. It kept wanting to curl up into its circles again.

Pros: contains dog

Cons: does not contain well

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Chitown
Flag
Rating: 5

Perfectly good tether

posted 5 years ago

Although I have a fenced pasture, I don't have a fenced yard. My elder cockapoo wanders over to the neighbor's horse pen occasionally to pick up a hoof paring, so when she's got that look in her eye, I fasten one end of this puppy cable to her harness and the other end to an old little boat anchor. It's like hobbling a horse. She can still enjoy sniffing around the yard a while, and I don't have to fret it.

Pros: Strong, doesn't tangle

Cons: None, except dogs shouldn't be tethered long or often

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Rsohler
Flag
Rating: 2

Puppy containment

posted 7 years ago

I don't believe in using these kind of products w/o supervision also. Dog can get tangled. The stake can come out of the ground if it's soft and has been raining. I think all puppies need to be supervised when not in their crate/kennel/yard.

Pros: available everywhere

Cons: may not hold the dog

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›