Product:
Bitter Apple Training Spray
Rating: 3.7

Average rating from 182 reviews.

More Products By Bitter Apple:
Bitter Apple Spray
Rating: 3.9

Average rating from 20 reviews.

Bitter Apple for Dogs
Rating: 3.9

Average rating from 130 reviews.

Bitter Apple For Ferret
Rating: 3.8

Average rating from 13 reviews.

See all (7) ›

Similar Products:
Bitter Apple Spray
Rating: 3.9

Average rating from 20 reviews.

Hartz Natural Chew Prevention Aid
Rating: 3.8

Average rating from 10 reviews.

Bitter Orange Cream Deterrent
Rating: 3.8

Average rating from 5 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

118 reviews

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 24 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Catlover63471
Flag
Rating: 5

Works well

posted 7 years ago

We sometimes use this product at work. Good to have on hand for those who like to chew or lick in places they should'nt. Works great on some dogs, others like my mom's dog seems to enjoy the taste and is'nt very effective.

Pros: keeps some dogs from licking or chewing

Cons: does'nt work on all dogs

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

karen
Flag
Rating: 3

We used this to keep dog from licking, not for training.

posted 6 years ago

Our dog was recovering postoperatively with HEALED suture lines, however, as his fur was growing back he would lick like crazy at certain areas as I am sure it was "itchy" to him. We used this spray and it immediately solved the problem. No mess, no cleanup, didn't get on furniture or carpets. It just leaves a dissatisfying taste in their mouth so that they leave that area alone. Please note that this product should never be put on an area with skin breakdown or an open wound as I'm sure it would cause a burning sensation to the pet. We applied this product to healthy skin.

Pros: kept our dog from licking fur as it was growing in postoperatively and it works

Cons: none really.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

amy a.
Flag
Rating: 2

Hmmm.

posted 6 years ago

When my little Red Heeler (Mandy) thought it was good fun to chew the corners off of the coffee table, we tried this Bitter Apple stuff. Maybe it works for SOME dogs, but Mandy just thought it "seasoned" up the table corners and chewed even more! We introduced more interesting chew toys, and that did the trick. Unfortunately, our coffee table now has rounded corners...

Pros: Seems like it would work!

Cons: Didn't!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Ercramer
Flag
Rating: 5

Worked wonders with my dog

posted 7 years ago

My mutt had a habit of chewing when he was younger. He especially liked to go after my babygates which he would reduce to shreds in no time flat. I was working at a pet store at the time, and decided to try Bitter Apple. It was amazing! It stopped all of his chewing habits and, after a time, I didn't have to use it as it effectively trained him to not chew. It never stained anything I used it on and worked every time. I highly recommend this product in training chewers to stop.

Pros: Keeps dog from chewing household objects

Cons: none

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Becca H.
Flag
Rating: 4

It worked, for a while

posted 6 years ago

we used this for charlie when he was a puppy because he was constantly trying to chew through his leash. when we put this on the leash, it phased him for a few times, but eventually he just did it anyway.

Pros: kept puppy from chewing

Cons: lost effectiveness eventually

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 24 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›