Product:
Bitter Apple Training Spray
Rating: 3.7

Average rating from 182 reviews.

More Products By Bitter Apple:
Bitter Apple Spray
Rating: 3.9

Average rating from 20 reviews.

Bitter Apple for Dogs
Rating: 3.9

Average rating from 130 reviews.

Bitter Apple For Ferret
Rating: 3.8

Average rating from 13 reviews.

See all (7) ›

Similar Products:
Bitter Apple Spray
Rating: 3.9

Average rating from 20 reviews.

Hartz Natural Chew Prevention Aid
Rating: 3.8

Average rating from 10 reviews.

Bitter Orange Cream Deterrent
Rating: 3.8

Average rating from 5 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

118 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 24 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Susan
Flag
Rating: 5

It works!

posted 6 years ago

This comes in handy not just for training a puppy, but for older dogs who like to chew on their tags. A few squirts on the tag and it's safe for a while. NYC dog license tags, and some ID tags, are made of a very soft metal and sometimes fall victim to the desire to chew on something. It's much simpler and cheaper to squirt some of this on when you notice the behavior starting again.

Pros: Discourages destructive behavior

Cons: none

25 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Karen S.
Flag
Rating: 5

Really Works!

posted 6 years ago

I was introduced to this spray when my dog was a chewing puppy. I sprayed it on rungs of rocking chairs and everything else that he seemed attracted to and it really does work!

Pros: Met all expectations

Cons: None

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Paula H.
Flag
Rating: 4

Great for small animals

posted 7 years ago

I have used Bitter Apple several times. It works well on Ferrets or Gerbils that the shelter takes in that have been under - socialized and therefore learned to bite. It helps to train them that hands do not taste good. It also helps with other inappropriate behavior's such as chewing on furniture. It does not work for all and certainly does not substitute actual training. But used in conjunction with training can be a real help.

Pros: Stops inappropriate biting

Cons: Does not work for all

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Mrthe2th
Flag
Rating: 5

Bitter Apple Spray Works Well

posted 7 years ago

We used this to keep our dog from nosing through the trash and also from eating socks. He never touched them again after he got a dose of the Bitter Apple. Great product.

Pros: Excellent Training Aid

Cons: None

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Jake
Flag
Rating: 2

Selectively good training aid

posted 6 years ago

I was taught to use this product in my first puppy training class. I think with my knowledge level, and probably skill level, it was a great training aid, better than so many options around me that I saw for training and "discipline". I don't discipline my pup, I pretty much feel if he has done something wrong, it is my fault for being a bad parent and either suck it up or take extra time w/ training for a different behavior. Nowadays, I use the left-over bitter apple to spray the garbage when I know I have something very tempting in there. I've heeard of people successfully spraying areas where they don't want their pooch to dig. I don't like the idea of using it for 'discipline'.

Pros: effective

Cons: don't think it is usually used appropriately

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 24 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›