Product:
Bitter Apple Spray
Rating: 3.9

Average rating from 20 reviews.

More Products By Bitter Apple:
Bitter Apple for Dogs
Rating: 3.9

Average rating from 130 reviews.

Bitter Apple For Ferret
Rating: 3.8

Average rating from 13 reviews.

Bitter Apple Training Spray
Rating: 3.7

Average rating from 182 reviews.

See all (7) ›

Similar Products:
Hartz Natural Chew Prevention Aid
Rating: 3.8

Average rating from 10 reviews.

Bitter Orange Cream Deterrent
Rating: 3.8

Average rating from 5 reviews.

Bitter Apple Training Spray
Rating: 3.7

Average rating from 182 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

20 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Rory  H.
Flag
Rating: 5

Works great

posted 6 years ago

We used this in my shelter in the past with a dog who was a major leash biter, and it worked great! I would definitely recommend it.

Pros: keeps dog from chewing or biting on what you want

Cons: might not work on all dogs

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Sarah T.
Flag
Rating: 3

Good idea

posted 6 years ago

Bitter apple is a great training tool, especially for puppies who like to put everything in their mouths. Unfortunately, my dog didn't mind the taste.

Pros: good for training

Cons: not all dogs are averse

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Corey A.
Flag
Rating: 5

Works if you spray often

posted 6 years ago

My dog when she was a pup would chew the corner of the house, my gardening trunk, and the legs of the wood chairs on the patio. She also destroyed many dog bed covers as well, until I started using this product. AFter I wash the covers and they are dry, I thoroughly sprayed the edges of the bed and she hasn't destroyed one since. I don't even use the spray anymore as she's grown up and doesn't do it anymore.

As for the wood patio furniture and the house corner, I sprayed it once a week as well and after cleaning, and she's left them alone. She did chew higher up on the chair where I didn't spray though. So I had to spray where I thought she could reach. I also sprayed her in the mouth while I was spraying the other things to teach her to leave them alone. It works great.

I tried Yuck-E too, but it was too expensive for this kind of application.

Pros: Stopped my pup from chewing the wood

Cons: You need to spray at least once a week

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Muskratnik
Flag
Rating: 5

This works great!

posted 6 years ago

This is good stuff. Very effective in keeping a dog from chewing anything including bandages.

The smell is very 'alcoholic'..and has a distinctly bitter aroma but when it dries it's not noticable unless you happen to be a dog and lick it.

Pros: VERY effective in deterring chewing

Cons: if you get it on your own hands, DO NOT stick your fingers in your mouth LOL

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Marleydog
Flag
Rating: 4

Saved our tree!

posted 6 years ago

We were fostering a 6-month old puppy. He didn't appear to be much of a chewer! --- Until, we found he had almost chewed all of the bark off the lower portion of a tree in our yard!

We applied the spray to the tree and he stopped chewing! The small pump is a nice application feature, but was very tiring to use over a large area.

The tree has grown very large over the years, sporting a small scar where a puppy left his mark - and the puppy found a loving forever home!

Pros: Spray pump application

Cons: Tough to apply to large surfaces (see review)

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›