Product:
Merle's Door: Lessons from a Freethinking Dog by Ted Kerasote
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 27 reviews.

Similar Products:
Miracle Dog - book
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 23 reviews.

Parenting Your Dog by Trish King
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 8 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

19 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Jamie  P.
Flag
Rating: 4

Good read

posted 6 years ago

I just started reading this. I have enjoyed it to some extent. I like reading about the story of the man and his dog, but I don't like all of the other information thrown in.

Pros: great story

Cons: a lot of info

13 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

betty p.
Flag
Rating: 5

Learning more

posted 6 years ago

Merle's Door was a gift I got at Christmas. I am about 3/4 of the way thru it. I love it. Ted does alot of "viewing" the world thru the dog's eyes. Their adventures are great and their relationship is one that must folks would love to have.

I am not sure I agree with the no alpha part and sharing leadership with your pet. Maybe if you only had one dog, but not when you have 2 or more. Somebody had to be in control.

But with that aside, I do like the book so far.

Pros: well written

Cons: none yet

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Kim B.
Flag
Rating: 5

Merle's Door - a great and thought provoking book

posted 5 years ago

“Merle’s Door” was very good book. It covers all of Merle’s life up to the very end and so the book was sad near the end, but Merle had an extremely good life. I liked how the book told about Merle and how Ted Kerasote told his thoughts on things dog related. Merle was given what seemed like total freedom to come and go. But Merle and Kerasote lived in a rural Wyoming area so it was easier to do that compared to living in a city somewhere. Still, even if I lived in rural Wyoming, I don’t know that I could give my dogs that much freedom because I would be worried something would happen to them.
One of the things I really liked about the book is that Kerasote did a lot of research on dog behavior and he talks about it in the book. He has references and the book is also indexed. It isn’t just a story – it is something to think about in regards to how dogs act and think and how we act towards dogs. Such as, do we give them the opportunity to explore?
I had the opportunity to hear Kerasote speak about Merle and the Merle’s Door book. Kerasote said he received tons of emails and letters about the book. One of the emails he told us about was a person who lived in a suburb in a subdivision on fairly large lots a little under an acre and each lot was fenced. The people in the subdivision got 11 houses (or it might have been 10) that were each next to each other to put dog doors in the fences. And so then the dogs in those 11 houses had 11 big yards to go explore instead of just their own 1 yard and all the dogs got along with each other. I thought this was pretty neat.
I thought it was an interesting and thought provoking book that was well written and told Merle’s story really well.

Pros: good story and gives you lots to think about

Cons: can't think of any

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Gleb S.
Flag
Rating: 5

Can't stop thinking about this story

posted 5 years ago

Everything in this book is just so wonderful. First and most, it is a beautiful piece of literature. Additionally, it is about a dog, which is relevant to this website :). The book is thoughtful, sometimes provocative, opinionated. There is in fact plenty of information about how dogs think according to the expert and what the author thinks about it! It is a story just as much about the author as of his dog. They share everything in their lives and understand each other at the level few humans do with their own species. It is also a fascinating story of how accidental meeting of the author with a dog changed their life forever. And while reading the book one just feels so close to the author; he is so open and so vulnerable. One thing that was unclear in this book to me: when the author and the dog meet - who adopts whom? It is a fairly tale that unfortunately ends sadly. This book is an instant classic. Nothing short of Tolstoy.

Pros: just read the book

Cons: it ended

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

IamaCat
Flag
Rating: 5

Good book

posted 6 years ago

Well written and interesting. I've spent time in the Jackson area so I was able to appreciate the surroundings and the people as well as understanding the desire to allow dogs to live more normal lives, associating with their own kind and making their own choices. I wish more places could be like that - we only approximate them with our dog parks.

Pros: guy really cares about his dog

Cons: guy was a bit goofy

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›