Product:
Animals in Translation by Temple Grandin and Catherine Johnson
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 14 reviews.

Similar Products:
Miracle Dog - book
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 23 reviews.

Parenting Your Dog by Trish King
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 8 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

9 reviews

1 | 2 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
IamaCat
Flag
Rating: 5

Important book

posted 6 years ago

Temple Grandin is amazing- she can get into the minds of animals in a way that no one else can. Readers are so lucky she found a co-writer who can work with her to write this book because Dr. Grandin's insight is so valuable. I especially love the presentation of research that shows that when dogs were domesticated, it was actually the humans who were domesticated, in that the brains of the humans changed in the way that other domesticated animals' brains usually do. In other words, our brains aren't complete without dogs around us!

Pros: I learned a lot

Cons: no

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Jean K.
Flag
Rating: 5

A must read for animal lovers

posted 5 years ago

I have read Temple Grandin's books and this one is an important one for people who want to better understand animal behavior. I have attended a lecture that she gave at St. Hubert's and my eyes were opened to a whole new way of looking at animals.

Now I understand why my dog was hesitant to go down a steep flight of stairs and why some dogs are afraid to jump into a car. If you want to know the reasons and much more, read this book.

Pros: enlightening and interesting

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

donna w.
Flag
Rating: 5

Temple is amazing

posted 5 years ago

Dr. Temple Grandin is one of the most fascinating people i've had the privledge to meet. Temple teaches at Colorado State University and will occasionaly speak at fundraisers for the local therapy horse groups. I was absolutely tickled that she signed both this book and her "Thinking in Pictures" for me at one of these fundraisers.

both of these books are well worth your time!

Pros: wonderful

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Dogsrsuper
Flag
Rating: 5

Good book

posted 5 years ago

I really liked this book. Temple looks at the world from a different perspective. She notices objects in an environment that an animal will notice, but that most people won't even register. This is why she is so good at what she does. It is important to try and view the world from an animal's perspective as well as understanding the world an autistic person perceives.

Pros: informative

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Carolyn C.
Flag
Rating: 5

Amazing

posted 5 years ago

This is a unique book which tells how the author, who is on the autism spectrum, has used autism as a tool in dealing with animal behavior. It is probably a story you have never heard before and well worth reading.

Pros: A unique look at animal behavior and human autism

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›