Readers' Reviews add review

10 reviews

1 | 2 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
jon s.
Flag
Rating: 4

Healthy food

posted 6 years ago

i wish my dogs would eat it as it appears to be good for them

Pros: less additives

Cons: my dogs turn their nose up

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Ed D.
Flag
Rating: 4

Maybe Solid Gold's least-attractive mix

posted 6 years ago

First off, beef isn't a bad thing if your dog tolerates it and likes it! This food also has some fish thrown into the mix:

Beef, Beef Meal, Cracked Pearled Barley, Brown Rice, Millet, Rice Bran, Canola Oil, Ocean Fish Meal....

Pearled barley is like white rice - the most nutritious layer has been stripped off. Rice bran is another partial grain.

So there are four sources of grain, and the overall crude protein content is given as 22%. That's a few points lower than most dog foods aim for, something in the mid-twenties.

Other than that, this formula is definitely no worse than the average dog food, and I think the company strives for quality.

I try to keep the grains I feed my dogs to an absolute minimum, but I'm not completely dog-matic about it. ;-) When I buy a food that might be higher in protein than my dogs may tolerate, I don't mind mixing a little lower-protein stuff with it.

The main thing is to keep your eyes open, know what's in the food, and watch how it works for your dog.

Pros: Good meat sources, quality company

Cons: Grains (one lower quality), beef

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Nicoleyoley21
Flag
Rating: 4

I've heard good things....

posted 7 years ago

A couple of my girlfriends feed this to their dogs and they absolutely swear by Solid Gold! They love it and their dogs are definitely healthy.

Pros: none

Cons: none

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Wendie
Flag
Rating: 3

Great food but it didn't wow my dogs

posted 5 years ago

This food was recommended to me a lot of greyhound owners. Much to my surprise, it was sold at a local mom-and-pop grocery store (I live in the sticks and currently drive 40 minutes to buy dog food) I decided to give it a try. The ingredients list is awesome, as is made clear by the HIGH price tag on it. But, the savings in gas would have been worth it. If my dog would have been willing to eat it, that is. My dog, not much of a picky eater, was totally disinterested in this food by half way through the first bag. By the third bag, he was barely eating at all (I was hoping it was a battle of wills) Finally, I gave up and switched to something else.

Solid Gold makes great food, it just didn't go over well with my dog. Hence the 3 star rating.

Pros: Great ingredients, sold locally

Cons: Expensive, dog didn't like

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Greg K.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great food

posted 6 years ago

We have used this for years and been very satisfied. I recommend it highly. Our dog had a sensitive stomach, but since we have switched to this we have had no problems.

Pros: excellent food, nutritional

Cons: nothing comes to mind

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›