Product:
Everyone Loves Elwood
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 35 reviews.

Similar Products:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 5 reviews.

Let's Get A Pup! Said Kate
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 4 reviews.

Just Dog
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

24 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Joellissima
Flag
Rating: 5

A Disarmingly Adorable Lesson in Life

posted 5 years ago

I have read Everyone Loves Elwood 3 times and each time, I find that my eyes well up with tears. It is not a sad story in the least, au contraire. It is the reinforcement that a sad and unfortunate beginning may be turned around simply by the strength and resolve of love and determination of accepting each person exactly as they are. This is a priceless lesson in life, in love and in courage. I truly believe that every child, and anybody actually, should have this book, enjoy it, and keep it close to their hearts because it is a lesson which can be learned and relearned forever. In a society such as ours, it is imperative to remember and to disseminate that being different is OK and that in fact, it is beautiful. Everybody Loves Elwood is a charming and timeless tale of a different looking pup who overcomes what might have been an obstacle to a happy life, only to conquer the hearts and souls of all people whom he meets.

Pros: Perfect Format, Cute Illustrations, Priceless Lesson for Everybody

Cons: None

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Bobbicross
Flag
Rating: 5

Elwood: a Special Messenger

posted 5 years ago

Everyone Loves Elwood is a book for everyone, not just children. And it is not just about dogs or pets. It transcends species. In a society that tries to convince us that being beautiful is all that counts, Elwood is a refreshing message. Elwood is also a metaphor for humans. How many times may we have missed not knowing the soul of a wonderful person simply because we did not like the way they looked?

Elwood is here to convince us that there are many wonderful animals and humans out there. Some are looking for a friend, some conversation, a simple smile, and yes, a loving home. Get past the looks, discover the inner beauty.

Thanks Karen for writing this book.

Pros: All of it!

Cons: None

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

MaureenKoplow
Flag
Rating: 5

Beauty is found within

posted 5 years ago

The story of Elwood is a beautiful lesson for children and adults alike. This tiny dog who was too ugly to be sold turned out to be a beautiful soul. He was adopted by a woman who understood that outward appearance is not the only kind of beauty in the world. His story shows that kindness and love are the true measures of beauty, and that it's ok to be who you are. He also shows that adopting an animal companion brings many rewards, and that rescued animals are as valuable as the highest priced pedigrees. The illustrations are marvelous, and capture Elwood's true spirit.
I only wish Elwood's book was available at more locations so he could tell his story to more people. Everyone deserves to know and love Elwood!

Pros: Educational, inspirational, heartwarming

Cons: Not available at Borders or Barnes & Noble!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Dogladyblue
Flag
Rating: 5

Ugly the New Beautiful

posted 5 years ago

Elwood's story will make you sad and happy. It has a Happily Ever After ending for Elwood and his
owner, and a lesson to be learned by all.
You can feel how loved Elwood is by Karen, his
owner and author of the book. She shares his story in this book, trying to reach out to not only
children with the beautiful art work, but also adults who can make a difference to so many of the homeless, mistreated and unwanted animals in the world. Elwood has made a big difference, bringing love everywhere he goes. Anyone who has the pleasure of meeting Elwood, leaves with a big smile on their face. And the book makes you smile
after you finish reading it.


Pros: everything about it

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

SoCooLBob
Flag
Rating: 5

Who Loves Elwood?

posted 5 years ago

Everyone Loves Elwood is a very special book, because of Elwood, and because of the reader.

In Everyone Loves Elwood the reader has the opportunity to discover how Elwood is born into seeming adversity ... that's what some humans say ... and, with a little luck, with a little prayer, with a little help, he becomes "recognized" as being Oh So Special.

By whom?

The reader?

Yes, beauty and ugly and all kinds of good and bad things will be a part of all our lives. It turns out, how we think about those things makes ALL The Difference.

Elwood thinks he's "beautiful."

Pros: Positive Thoughts

Cons: None

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›