Product:
Catit Drinking Fountain
Rating: 2.8

Average rating from 17 reviews.

More Products By Hagen:
Hagen Fluval Foam Inserts
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rubber Scrub Brush Squ  72
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 7 reviews.

Hagen Hamster and Gerbil Staple VME Diet
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 33 reviews.

See all (160) ›

Similar Products:
Kitty Bowl, Mouse Pattern
Rating: 4.7

Average rating from 26 reviews.

Drinkwell Additional Capacity Reservoir
Rating: 4.4

Average rating from 14 reviews.

Limited Edition Drinkwell Pet Fountain
Rating: 4.3

Average rating from 33 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

12 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Greenstarfish20
Flag
Rating: 3

So-so fountain

posted 7 years ago

The Catit is okay, but there are are better fountains out there.

My cats enjoyed drinking the water that cascades down the 'dome', but they are not the ones who had to fill or clean the fountain. One of my main complaints-- to add water, you have to turn the fountain off and remove the main 'dome'. With some of the other fountains out there, you can remove just the reservoir while the fountain is still running.

Also, the fountain can be noisy, particularly if the floor is not completely level. It kind of churns/gurgles in that case, and sometimes the water flows unevenly over the dome. My impression is that the designers cared more about making catit look futuristic and 'cool', than about what would make an easy, functioning fountain.

Final note-- my catit ultimately broke because the flimsy piece that holds the water into the reservoir (which you have to invert to put on the fountain) broke-- meaning I couldn't keep water in the reservoir while inverting it. I do not plan to buy again.





Pros: Fresh water for cats

Cons: Flimsy, hard to clean

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Tammyg
Flag
Rating: 1

Waste of money

posted 7 years ago

My friend got one of these after I told her how pleased I was with my Drinkwell Fountain (guess I forgot to emphasize brand when I shared with her). She was dishearted quickly with this Catit fountain - water got dirty fast and her cat would not drink from it after only a couple of days. There are much better automatic fountains available.

Pros: good concept overall

Cons: does not work well, gets dirty fast

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Kathy W.
Flag
Rating: 5

Fresh water when they want it!

posted 6 years ago

My daughter had one of these and said that her cats love it. I finally broke down and bought one for my cats. They drink 3 times as much water as they used to each day. The water stays fresh and clean all day. I like this type of fountain better because it does not splash when the water gets low. Cleaning is a must but definately worth it!

Pros: Fresh water, doesn't splash, cats drink more water

Cons: Needs weekly cleaning

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Charlene L.
Flag
Rating: 5

Maggie makes a mess - but otherwise, they love this!

posted 5 years ago

We bought this because Maggie likes to put her paws into bowls of water and fling the water all over the place. We figured if she drank from this, she couldn't put her paws in it. But after a few months, she found a way to lap the water up against the sides of the water bowl, flinging water all over the place. Oh well.

We really like this, as it is very quiet, and comes completely apart for easy cleaning. One tip, though, use cold filtered water to keep it from getting all slimy. We completely change it every two weeks, but if we don't use cold filtered water, it goes bad in about two to three days.

Pros: Quiet, easy to clean the whole thing, seems reliable

Cons: Maggie found a way to make a mess with it

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Mexiangel76
Flag
Rating: 1

In the trash!

posted 7 years ago

My mother in law got this for our cats last XMAS. The water would get dirty so fast! My husband would clean it the best he could by taking the thing completely apart and washing every single tiny piece, but it did not help. We also replaced the filters often. Also, when taking it apart, a piece would break here and there, not a piece so significant it would be unusable, but still a piece broke. I would never recommend this to anyone!

Pros: Good idea, but...

Cons: Falls apart easily and water gets dirty fast

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›