Product:
Petmate Sisal Rope Cat Scratching Post, Spa Teal
Rating: 3.7

Average rating from 15 reviews.

More Products By Petmate:
Petmate Bakery Delights Nutta Butta Biscuits
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Petmate Fool-A-Bug Ant Free Pet Bowl
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 8 reviews.

Petmate Large Hooded Litter Pan

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 13 reviews.

See all (332) ›

Similar Products:
Kitty Coliseum with Tube
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 4 reviews.

Purr Pet Catch & Scratch
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

purr postâ„¢
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

9 reviews

1 | 2 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
DarceyJane
Flag
Rating: 4

Lasts and lasts

posted 6 years ago

I prefer sisal over carpeted or cardboard scratchers any day. They last forever and don't leave behind a big mess. And the kitties can get a nice grip. The tapered design looks much nicer and seems even more durable than the cylindrical scratcher I used to have, but why can't manufacturers start coloring the sisal to match any household? I'd love a ruby and black one!

Pros: clean, durable

Cons: base could be heavier

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

H J.
Flag
Rating: 3

Popular post

posted 6 years ago

Good while it lasts. When the sisal starts to come loose, though, there's not much you can do to repair it.

Pros: cats like it

Cons: eventually the rope will come loose

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Lhammon
Flag
Rating: 4

Our foster kittens LOVE this scratchingpost and use it all the time.

posted 6 years ago

The Petmate Sisal Rope Cat Scratching Past is a great way to teach kittens to scratch on it not furniture and carpet. Our foster kittens always use it and really enjoy it. I have never noticed them scratching on anything other than this post. Our adult cats were used to carpet sratching posts so don't use this one. However, I highly recommend it ifor cats tht are not already used to carpet posts. It is a very sturdy, well made product.

Pros: Our foster kittens have used and loved this scratching pad since they were old enough to know how to scratch.

Cons: Our older cats that were used to a carpet scratch pad did not use this kind.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Lauren  S.
Flag
Rating: 4

Like it better than carpeted posts

posted 6 years ago

The rope holds up way better than a carpeted scratch post and is far less messy. I throw a bit of cat nip on it, and Buddy stays entertained for a long time! He likes to grab a hold of the pillar and drag himself around in circles around it. It must be fun cuz he does it a lot!

Pros: durable

Cons: none

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

FLPhanGirl
Flag
Rating: 4

Works pretty well

posted 6 years ago

This is one of the first scratch posts my family ever bought. It's a good, reliable sisal scratcher. The cats love the sisal rope and the carpet base, and they gladly work their claws on it. The only thing is that the whole piece, base and scratcher, are not very heavy; they are kind of lightweight, so when the cats really dig in to work the claws, the scratcher will often fall over. The height is very short, so it's no harm to the cat at all when it tips; it just makes it tough for them to get any scratching leverage.

Pros: Good standard scratcher

Cons: A little too lightweight

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›