Product:
Bitter Yuck
Rating: 2.8

Average rating from 12 reviews.

Similar Products:
Stop Cats From Destroying carpet
Rating: 4.7

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Sticky Paws on a Roll
Rating: 4.6

Average rating from 9 reviews.

Sticky Paws Furniture strips
Rating: 4.4

Average rating from 10 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

9 reviews

1 | 2 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Kate
Flag
Rating: 3

I think some animals love the taste

posted 6 years ago

Wears off quickly and I had a bunny who seemed to like the flavor. I know some dogs who are said to like the taste too, even when fresh. Smells funky when spraying but that goes away pretty quickly.

Pros: doesn't do any harm

Cons: doesnt' work that well

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Seana B.
Flag
Rating: 4

Bitter Yuck saves plants from foraging cats

posted 7 years ago

This is a great product because unlike most indoor repellants, it is safe for plants. When used on indoor plants and reapplied periodically, it really saves my houseplants from my cats. The only downside is that it comes in a spray bottle. The product is INCREDIBLY POWERFUL and a few times when I have applied it to the leaves of my plants, I have walked through the vapor and WOW! That stuff is truly incredibly, horribly bitter! The good news is that it does not need to be applied often, just whenever you see that the cats have been back chewing at a plant. I used a disposable paper face mask that can be purchased at the hardware store (for woodworking, etc) and it helped me avoid breathing in the product. It has worked to keep even palm type plants safe from my cats, which have typically been the first that they munch on.

Pros: prevents cats from shredding houseplants

Cons: truly terrible taste if humans accidentally inhale

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Bluemoon298
Flag
Rating: 3

Only works half the time

posted 5 years ago

The first couple of times we used this spray, it seemed to work pretty good. If you accidentally get a whiff of it, you can tell, that it tastes pretty yucky. After a couple of months, the cat seemed to get used to it. We usually spray a plant that he sometimes tries to nibble on and it must have severa layers of bitter yuck by now (I can still smell the stuff, when I get close), which does not seem to deter him all the time. May husband fixed something and sprayed bitter yuck on it to deter the cat for a couple of hours. The cat came right up, sniffed and licked at the spot he had just put the bitter yuck on. Not sure, if the bottle was old or what the problem was, but only seems to work half of the time.

Pros: Safe for Pets

Cons: Extremely yucky, if accidentally inhaled by humans, does not always work

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Katy H.
Flag
Rating: 4

Works great for our codependant cats

posted 5 years ago

We lock our cats out of our bedroom, and naturally they miss us at night. When we introduced double-sided tape to the doors they turned to chewing up the carpet at the corner of the door frame.

They haven't chewed since the first time we sprayed the carpet, but they will all still scratch at the door when the scent has worn off. A nighttime crazies lifesaver!!

Word of warning - do not oversaturate because you will end up smelling it too!

Pros: keeps cats away from closed doors

Cons: wears off too quickly

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Chrisbr
Flag
Rating: 5

Works Great

posted 6 years ago

Used on my plants to stop the cats and dog from chewing. Also sprayed it on a rug my dog was chewing. Both stopped chewing immediately. Eventually, it wears off and needs to be reapplied.

Pros: It WORKS

Cons: None

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›