Product:
Revolution for Cats
Rating: 4.6

Average rating from 73 reviews.

Similar Products:
Vectra
Rating: 4.5

Average rating from 2 reviews.

happy jack flea shampoo
Rating: 4.3

Average rating from 7 reviews.

Vedco: Clean Ear with Aloe Vera
Rating: 4.3

Average rating from 6 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

61 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 13 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Oldmaidcatwoman
Flag
Rating: 4

The only flea/tick stuff we use

posted 6 years ago

This is applied just like the other brand name flea and tick preventer. It comes in a small plastic vial that you puncture a hole in the top with a cap. (The noise alone is enough to make a cat scramble once he/she has experienced Revolution application.) It has a very strong smell of alcohol too which isn't big with cats either. It is applied directly to the skin between the shoulder blades so that it cannot be licked off.

This is what my vet suggests and I trust him. He keeps himself very up-to-date and has friends in vet research. Extremely knowledgable.

Revolution is somewhat less toxic than the other leading brand--if I remember correctly it is a corn derivative of some sort. It still has its dangers though--you have to dispose of it properly and it recommends hand washing immediately after use so it isn't completely safe. Revolution's biggest plus is that it can be used in place of the additional heartworm pill and is effective against some other parasites as well. I try to use this only during the flea/tick season as it certainly is not completely safe. But, I think its benefits outweigh the risks of heartworm, West Nile, Lyme Disease etc.

Pros: My vet recommends it

Cons: Cats don't like the application process

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Jodi S.
Flag
Rating: 4

Easiest heartworm preventative for cats

posted 5 years ago

I utilize Revolution primarily for heartworm prevention in my two domesticated cats, Rhys and Gabe, and the flea/tick prevention is an added bonus. I can easily get a box of six at my vet with a free seventh tube, so I'm not scrambling to figure out where to get it when I run low.

Since there's no definitive heartworm test for cats at this time, I have no idea how well Revolution for Cats actually works against heartworms except that my cats seem healthy. It does work well against fleas and ticks though although I have seen live fleas in the cat room wandering around.

Neither cats likes having the Revolution squirted between the shoulder blades, so I have to hide the tubes when it's application time. Fortunately, as long as they're scruffed, it's relatively simple.

Most cats appear to have no allergies to the ingredients, so it's really the easiest option for heartworm prevention for your feline friends.

Pros: Easy to apply, most vets carry it, 7th tube free with purchase of six pack from vet

Cons: Pricey, cats dislike cold and wet liquid

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

BHOLTZ
Flag
Rating: 1

Dangerous for old cats

posted 5 years ago

Read the fine print! Do not rely on your vet, or his staff to just dispense this product. I used this on both of my cats. I had asked for Frontline but this was all they had. My one cat was ok, but my older Maine Coon cat became lethargic, stopped eating and drinking and was ill for 4 days. My daughter, a vet tech had said she didn't like Revolution because she had seen too many issues with it. I should've waited until she could get the Frontline for me. When I read the fine print on the drug insert it said not to use it in old and under-weight cats. Not so with Frontline. It's safe for kittens and older pets and the only thing I will use from now on.

Pros: works ok for fleas

Cons: dangerous for older and thin cats

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Chandra  K.
Flag
Rating: 4

Good Product

posted 6 years ago

This product prevents a lot of different diseases/infections I guess you could say. It helps prevent heartworm, earmites (or gets rid of earmites), fleas, etc. Both my cats had earmites and the vet prescribed this product to use to get those away, plus he said it would help with all the other things. It's just a small vial that you place on the animals skin. You have to split their hair to get it on the actual skin. The best place to put it is right between their shoulder blades because cats love to stay clean and lick it off if it's in a place they can reach. So far on my cats, I think it has worked pretty well. I don't see them itching their ears at all. They seem to still itch a little when I scratch them, but that could just be the dead earmites and gunk still in there. You still have to clean the dead earmites out!!

Pros: Only have to apply once

Cons: Takes a while to kick in

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Kris
Flag
Rating: 5

We use it every month

posted 5 years ago

We use this to treat against heartworm, fleas, and ticks. Max is an indoor cat, but with the dogs in and out, they could bring something in, even though they have been treated as well. Also, he likes to occassionally try to get outside (fortunately he hasn't made it recently - but just in case - it is nice to know he is protected). He doesn't really enjoy having it put on, but I am able to hold him while my mom puts in. It goes on quickly and easily and he doesn't struggle once I am holding him, so it's not hard to get it on him. It seems to be effective as we have had no problems with any parasites.

Pros: preventative against a variety of parasites

Cons: Max doesn't like having it put on

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 13 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›