Product:
Hartz Flea & Tick Spray
Rating: 1.8

Average rating from 31 reviews.

More Products By HARTZ:
Hartz VMX Pet Hair Grabber Refill
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Hartz Dura Play Ball

Rating: 5.0

See all (264) ›

Similar Products:
Revolution for Cats
Rating: 4.6

Average rating from 73 reviews.

Vectra
Rating: 4.5

Average rating from 2 reviews.

happy jack flea shampoo
Rating: 4.3

Average rating from 7 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

19 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
teresa d.
Flag
Rating: 1

Not for my cats or for our shelter cats!!!

posted 6 years ago

I was a veterinary toxicologist for several years and had many many calls about cats sick and dead from using Hartz products.
I would not ever buy any Hartz products for any of my cats or for the shelter cats. Too many Hartz products contain permethrins which can be deadly in cats. Too many times people apply a Hartz dog product to a cat (either intentionally or by accident) and the cat will start to seizure. If a cat even has close contact with a dog that was just treated with a permethrin containing product, it can be seriously affected.
There are too many really effective and safe alternatives on the market to use this product.

Pros: Cheaper than some flea products.. but you get what you pay for

Cons: Not effective, potential toxicity

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Wpras
Flag
Rating: 2

Doesn't work!

posted 6 years ago

I tryed this once and it made my cat throw up. It does not work either.

Pros: none

Cons: smells strong, cats hate it, ineffective

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

HEATHER D.
Flag
Rating: 1

No good

posted 6 years ago

This doesn't work. You need to buy a good brand that used to only be offered by your vet, but is now available in Petco stores.

Pros: cheap

Cons: doesn't work

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Smilingk9
Flag
Rating: 1

Don't use it!

posted 6 years ago

This Hartz spray does not control fleas/ticks. I have used it in the past for fleas but it didn't seem to work. Frontline works better and lasts longer. We stick to Adams' flea and tick spray at the shelter.

Pros: none

Cons: harmful chemicals, doesn't work

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

amy c.
Flag
Rating: 1

Didnt work @ all

posted 6 years ago

this did not work at all ... i had always heard great things about hartz but the more and more i use this brand the more and more im disappointed

Pros: nothing

Cons: everything

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›