Product:
2nd Step Weaning Kitten
Rating: 4.7

Average rating from 21 reviews.

Similar Products:
Critter Titter
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

Veta Lac Feline
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 6 reviews.

Meyenberg Goat's Milk
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 4 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

13 reviews

| 1 | 2 | 3 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Susan H.
Flag
Rating: 5

Trust this stuff

posted 6 years ago

We keep this handy to send home with our very young foster kittens. Easy to use, and kitties eat it, keeping them healthy and growing while in foster care. Made by a company we have trusted for years.

Pros: healthy

Cons: none

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Brianna  H.
Flag
Rating: 4

Next after kmr milk!

posted 6 years ago

When our kittens were older we gave them 2nd step and they liked it too. It was easy to mix up.

Pros: best for kittens, they like it

Cons: price

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Heather
Flag
Rating: 4

Good stuff, but not usually necessary

posted 5 years ago

2nd Step mixes well with water, but makes a clumpy mess when mixing with dry food. Also, 2nd Step dries solid, so it's not a practical food to leave out for kittens who'll be unattended for more than an hour or two, let alone overnight.

So even though a container of 2nd Step is cheaper than the same size of KMR formula, I'd go with the formula to soften and mix with wet & dry food to get your kittens eating kibble. I've had better success w/ sprinkling prepared formula on the dry food to soften it and get the kittens chowing down.

Pros: nutritious, mixes easily

Cons: KMR formula + wet/dry food = better

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

DawgByte
Flag
Rating: 4

A Life Saver for Stray Kittens

posted 7 years ago

We have fostered many kittens a mother cat. 2nd Step has been the product we feed them. It has helped keep their bellies full and helped keep needed weight on. It takes some time and diligence to get a kitten use to being fed by an eye dropper, but it is the only thing keeping the little ones alive.
The clean up can be messy -- not the fault of the 2nd Step. Clean the kittens right after eating helps. It this stuff dries in their fur it is tough to get out.

Pros: has nuterients kittens need

Cons: clean up

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Lori  R.
Flag
Rating: 2

None of the kittens I've fostered would eat this

posted 7 years ago

I've tried the KMR second step I can't say how many times but a lot. I have never gotten them to eat it. I find it easier to just start them on kitten soft food then try to get them to eat this. It smells sweet, I don't know but not one kittens I've bottle fed ever ate this they didn't like it.

Pros: It mixes easy

Cons: can't get any kittens to eat this

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

| 1 | 2 | 3 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›