Product:
Hill's Prescription Diet a/d
Rating: 4.5

Average rating from 35 reviews.

Similar Products:
Wellness Healthy Indulgence Grain Free Cat Food Pouches

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 16 reviews.

Wellness Turkey-Salmon
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 30 reviews.

Evangers Orangic Braised Chicken Dinner
Rating: 4.7

Average rating from 17 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

25 reviews

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Jthomas9
Flag
Rating: 5

Great for orphans & sick animals

posted 7 years ago

This is a great food for orphaned kittens / puppies and for older animals with systemic illness. It is high in nutrients, so you don't have to get as much food into the animal to have enough nutrition. Due to the fatty nature of the food, very few animals refuse to eat this! Also great for some wildlife rehabilitation.

Pros: High fat for debilitated animals

Cons: Can cause diarrhea in healthy animals

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Petloverdebbie44
Flag
Rating: 5

Very good product

posted 6 years ago

i had to buy some of this food for my cat that has mouth problems. the vet told me that she needed it because with her mouth being the way it is, she needs extra nutrients.

Pros: helps

Cons: high in price

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

HEATHER D.
Flag
Rating: 5

Good for sick babies

posted 7 years ago

I've had the shelter and my vet give this to me when nursing a sick cat or kitten back to health. For some reason, a sick cat who will not eat will eat this food.

Pros: Good for sick ones

Cons: none that I can think of

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Jessie  G.
Flag
Rating: 5

Works well for sick cats

posted 6 years ago

At the shelter we have a lot of cats that come in with colds. Cats tend not to eat a lot of food while they aren't feeling the best. With this food they eat enough and give them the extra umph to make sure their liver doesn't fail while they aren't eating or drinking enough of their daily regiments.

Pros: great for cats that aren't eating well

Cons: n/a

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Meredith H.
Flag
Rating: 5

A/D helped save my cat's life

posted 6 years ago

I can't honestly rate A/D on additives or taste, b/c I didn't read the ingredients list, and how am I supposed to know how it tasted? Even if my cat who was on it for more than a month, Oni, liked the taste, I never would've been able to tell b/c the whole syringe-feeding process was stressful to her.

Anyway, the food helped save her life. It was what my vet prescribed I syringe-feed her after she had stopped eating and had developed feline hepatic lipidosis, aka fatty liver disease, and anemia. Although it was a process having to do so up to three times a day, the food itself made it easier, as it easily flowed through the syringe, especially after adding a little bit of water.

The only problem I had was w/ air bubbles that caused the syringe to squirt out all over the place, but I learned tricks to prevent that after doing it so many times. Whatever's in the formula helped my special girl get healthy, gain weight and eventually eat on her own again, and that's what matters.

Pros: Consistency easy to use in syringe; gives kittens or ailing cats what they need to grow or get well

Cons: I got tired of the smell after more than a month of syringe-feeding, but I guess that'll happen w/ any food!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›