Product:
Hill's Science Diet Feline Maintenance Hairball Control Light Formula
Rating: 4.1

Average rating from 127 reviews.

More Products By Hill's Science Diet:
Simple Essentials Treats Immunity Support
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Simple Essentials Treats Oral Care
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

Hill's Science Diet Indoor Cat Food
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

See all (137) ›

Similar Products:
FLINT RIVER CAT FOOD
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 13 reviews.

Friskies Hairball Control Seafood Medley
Rating: 4.7

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Max Cat - Hairball Management
Rating: 4.6

Average rating from 5 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

71 reviews

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 15 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Kristin
Flag
Rating: 4

Hairball formula has really helped

posted 6 years ago

I recently switched my cats to this. One has frequently been sick and suffered from hairballs on her prior food (for sensitive stomach due to being in a house with a cat with colitis). Also, my cats are both a bit, um, sturdy.

The hairball sufferer has been MUCH better. She brings up a hairball maybe every few weeks compared to every week or two before and doesn't really throw up otherwise. Also, what she brings up is much dryer, and light in color, and cleans up easily, doesn't stain, etc.

Finally, it's great to have a combined hairball/light formula -- both my cats are a bit trimmer.

Pros: Helps reduce hairballs and helps for weight loss

Cons: none

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

KAL1968
Flag
Rating: 5

Very good food to help with hairball problems

posted 6 years ago

It depends on how sensitive a cat's stomach is. This food is really helpful of both getting rid of hairballs and preventing future ones. Cats like the taste, too. And it is so important to keep cats from having hair in their belly, so that they do not get obstructions. This food works. However, for cats with sensitive digestive systems, this might make them vomit more than usual.

Pros: Good taste, very effective for hairballs

Cons: Can cause extra vomiting

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Tina P.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great nutrition, helps the fight against hairballs, and is lower in calories than reg. food

posted 5 years ago

Many years ago we had a cat who had Feline Urologic Syndrome and the vet recommended Prescription Diet. Well, once everything cleared up he recommended that we start using Science Diet. Well, we took him up on his advice!

Our crew ranges from 5 months old to 16 years old. The 16 year old we've had since she was a kitten so it's pretty much all she's ever eaten and she's fit and trim @ a whole 7 pounds. I don't worry about her or the others becoming too overweight because I do try to not give them too much food at one. I use a constant feeder with it however, I only fill it once a week. They never starve because I also give them wet food once a day and a few treats as well.

We've never had any health issues with our cats and I give KUDOS to Hill's for creating a wonderful product line that my cats enjoy and love!

I wanted to also add that when you have long haired cats (not all of them but some) you should use some sort of hairball preventative if you're not using this type of food. I feel it keeps their digestive tracts clean and functioning properly!

Pros: My cats love it, it keeps them healthy, their coats are shiney, & minimal hairballs

Cons: It's a little on the pricey side but, my babies are worth it!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Morrish
Flag
Rating: 3

Light?

posted 6 years ago

It may help with the hairballs, but there are way too many fillers for this to be light. The cat that has problems with hairballs doesn't need any help with putting weight on, so this product wouldn't work for her weight problem.

Pros: Didn't make the hairballs worse.

Cons: Too many fillers.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Megan B.
Flag
Rating: 4

Weight maintained, hairballs decreased

posted 5 years ago

I haven't done much research on Science Diet as a company or on this cat food (thought I should preface that in my review). Science Diet is somewhat expensive, but has a variety of commercially available products to suit most cats/dogs nutritionally. I chose the hairball control light formula for my indoor cats, aged (at the time) 3 and 7. They were adding weight to their already large frames. Xan, my older cat, also had a hairball on average once per day. I had seen the vet, who said that aside from diet, he was fine. The hairballs decreased on the hairball control light. Their weight was maintained (vs. gaining... which is good).

Hint: I heard from the owner of the pet store that the Hairball control light and the indoor cat formulas are the same or very similar. I think that is also the case with the senior hairball control light and the senior indoor cat. At my pet store they are the same price... but this may not be true in all places.

Pros: cats enjoy it, available at most quality pet stores

Cons: expensive

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 15 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›