Product:
vegetable oil
Rating: 4.5

Average rating from 13 reviews.

Similar Products:
Vaseline
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 88 reviews.

Laxatone Cat hairball remedy
Rating: 4.7

Average rating from 25 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

8 reviews

1 | 2 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Marilyn B.
Flag
Rating: 1

Cats did not like

posted 6 years ago

My cats would not eat their food if I put vegetable oil on it.

Pros: easy to give

Cons: Cats would not eat

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Oldmaidcatwoman
Flag
Rating: 4

Easier to use than Laxatone

posted 5 years ago

A neighbor told me about using vegetable oil for hairballs. I do use the Laxatone my vet recommends, but cats absolutely hate having Laxatone put on their fur. They fling their paws around and you end up with Laxatone on the walls. For some reason, canola oil is much better received--you can put it in a bowl and they will lick it right up. I'm not sure any hairball remedy works, but at least the vegetable oil doesn't cause a huge struggle.

Pros: Much better received than Laxatone

Cons: Like all hairball remedies, I'm not really sure they work

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

PaulM
Flag
Rating: 5

Works for dogs too

posted 6 years ago

we ase oil for the dog too.it helps give a healthy coat that shines and brushes easier.don't do it everyday tho-about once a week or so

Pros: helps the coat

Cons: makes a mess in the food dish

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Debbie S.
Flag
Rating: 5

I recommend this

posted 6 years ago

I work in a farm store and tell people to put a tsp. of vegetable oil on their cats dry food and mix well. It is good for the hairballs and also works as a good stool softner.

Pros: Always available

Cons: none

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

ellen  L.
Flag
Rating: 5

Works well

posted 5 years ago

I use vegetable oil with my cats food once a week, seems to do the trick and they like it better than the store bought. I also use a litter butter every now and then that works great and cats love a little taste

Pros: cats like it better than over the counter med.

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›