Product:
Vaseline
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 88 reviews.

Similar Products:
Laxatone Cat hairball remedy
Rating: 4.7

Average rating from 25 reviews.

Virbac Petromalt 11005 Malt Flavor Hairball Remover - Economy Size
Rating: 4.6

Average rating from 14 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

46 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 ... 10 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Gail
Flag
Rating: 5

Can be used on BOTH ENDS

posted 5 years ago

We use it at the clinic for taking temperatures with a rectal thermometer for easy insertion, and it can also be used for getting rid of hairballs, so I guess you could say it's good for both ends of the kitty, you know what they say, "What goes in, must come out". It's much cheaper than paying $10.00 for tuna or malt flavored hairball flavored Hairball remedy that my cat wont eat anyway.

Pros: goes in both ends, cheap

Cons: greasy

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Getta S.
Flag
Rating: 5

Soothe the itch

posted 6 years ago

We put this around the shaved areas after spays & neuters to soothe the razor burns we get sometimes.Does work for hairballs and dry skin too.An all around good product.

Pros: cheap easy to get

Cons: I don't know

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Sarah  K.
Flag
Rating: 5

Has many uses

posted 6 years ago

this has so many uses, I am not sure that I would use it for hairballs though, just the thought of putting vasoline in anyone/things mouth is enough to have my gag reflex go into overdrive. Yech!! But it is good for sore paws and you can also use a thick coat of it over a skin irration with some bitter apple spray on top to keep the animals from licking the affected area.

Pros: not just for hairballs

Cons: what a mess

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

BuilderBob
Flag
Rating: 5

Versatile Vaseline

posted 5 years ago

Invented in 1872 by Robert Chesebrough, this petroleum jelly has been in everyone's home since, well, 1872. The current formula is a mix of a mixture of mineral oils, paraffin and microcrystalline waxes. It protects skin from the effects of weather and exposure and acts like a sealant to help keep moisture in the skin. Use it at night to keep your lips from drying out.

Pros: Good for a variety of problems

Cons: messy

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Jason P.
Flag
Rating: 5

Works when the treats are gone

posted 5 years ago

We normally give our cats hairball control treats which they love. However, we ran out and some friends of our recommended using vaseline. We smeared a little on their paws and let them lick it off. It worked well. We still give them treats because they like them and they are spoiled cats. However, when in a pinch for hairball we know this works like a charm.

Pros: Cheap and easy to use

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 ... 10 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›