Product:
Vaseline
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 88 reviews.

Similar Products:
Laxatone Cat hairball remedy
Rating: 4.7

Average rating from 25 reviews.

Virbac Petromalt 11005 Malt Flavor Hairball Remover - Economy Size
Rating: 4.6

Average rating from 14 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

46 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 ... 10 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Gail
Flag
Rating: 5

Can be used on BOTH ENDS

posted 5 years ago

We use it at the clinic for taking temperatures with a rectal thermometer for easy insertion, and it can also be used for getting rid of hairballs, so I guess you could say it's good for both ends of the kitty, you know what they say, "What goes in, must come out". It's much cheaper than paying $10.00 for tuna or malt flavored hairball flavored Hairball remedy that my cat wont eat anyway.

Pros: goes in both ends, cheap

Cons: greasy

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Getta S.
Flag
Rating: 5

Soothe the itch

posted 6 years ago

We put this around the shaved areas after spays & neuters to soothe the razor burns we get sometimes.Does work for hairballs and dry skin too.An all around good product.

Pros: cheap easy to get

Cons: I don't know

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Sarah  K.
Flag
Rating: 5

Has many uses

posted 6 years ago

this has so many uses, I am not sure that I would use it for hairballs though, just the thought of putting vasoline in anyone/things mouth is enough to have my gag reflex go into overdrive. Yech!! But it is good for sore paws and you can also use a thick coat of it over a skin irration with some bitter apple spray on top to keep the animals from licking the affected area.

Pros: not just for hairballs

Cons: what a mess

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

BuilderBob
Flag
Rating: 5

Versatile Vaseline

posted 5 years ago

Invented in 1872 by Robert Chesebrough, this petroleum jelly has been in everyone's home since, well, 1872. The current formula is a mix of a mixture of mineral oils, paraffin and microcrystalline waxes. It protects skin from the effects of weather and exposure and acts like a sealant to help keep moisture in the skin. Use it at night to keep your lips from drying out.

Pros: Good for a variety of problems

Cons: messy

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Jason P.
Flag
Rating: 5

Works when the treats are gone

posted 5 years ago

We normally give our cats hairball control treats which they love. However, we ran out and some friends of our recommended using vaseline. We smeared a little on their paws and let them lick it off. It worked well. We still give them treats because they like them and they are spoiled cats. However, when in a pinch for hairball we know this works like a charm.

Pros: Cheap and easy to use

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 ... 10 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›