Product:
Petromalt Hairball
Rating: 4.3

Average rating from 75 reviews.

More Products By Petromalt:
Petromalt Fiber Caps
Rating: 4.5

Average rating from 2 reviews.

Petromalt Hairball Remedy
Rating: 4.2

Average rating from 11 reviews.

Petromalt Fish Flavor
Rating: 4.1

Average rating from 17 reviews.

See all (7) ›

Similar Products:
Vaseline
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 88 reviews.

Laxatone Cat hairball remedy
Rating: 4.7

Average rating from 25 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

45 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 9 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
ethel  B.
Flag
Rating: 5

Get rid of those hair balls

posted 6 years ago

imagine how they must feel with hair balls and this rids them of the hair balls

Pros: good to rid the cats of hair balls

Cons: none

25 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Kittyluv
Flag
Rating: 5

Hairball remover

posted 7 years ago

Ive tried just about everything to help with my cats hairballs. Lucky used to have them at least a couple times a week. Now that ive put him on a different food it has seemed to help, but this hairball remover doesnt seem to make much of a difference. To have it help you need to use it alot and the tub is small. Its costly and to buy it all the time is to hard. I didnt care for it.

Pros: Seems to help

Cons: cost and doesnt last long

20 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Ralffie44
Flag
Rating: 5

Hoe horrible this must feel

posted 6 years ago

hairballs must be the most uncomfortable thing you can imagine.

This gets rid of them

Pros: gets rid of hairballs

Cons: none

20 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Carol M.
Flag
Rating: 5

Good Riddance to Hairballs

posted 6 years ago

This type of product is great to use with long hair cats that tend to get hairballs.

Pros: Easy to use.

Cons: none

19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Angela L.
Flag
Rating: 4

Just started using

posted 6 years ago

I just recently started using this. When I was on vacation last week my pet sitter called to say one of the cats and pooped outside of the litter box and it was slightly bloody. The vet said it was likely that one of the cats had trouble passing a hairball and recommended using a hairball remedy gel along with extra brushing. It's been a week and so far, so good. Plus, both cats love the taste! It's actually hard to give to them because they'll push each other out of the way to get to the tube.

I don't recommend using these frequently or on a permanent basis because they can prevent fat soluble vitamins from being absorbed.

Petromalt is also an old-school treatment for rabbit "hairballs," but I will not use this on rabbits. Rabbit hairballs become compacted and dry on the inside and extra fluids are needed to get into the mass and break it up. Petroleum hairball products coat the mass and prevent water from getting in, so the hairball can't get broken into smaller, easier to pass pieces. That's a bad deal for the bunnies.

Pros: My cats love it, may help them pass hairballs

Cons: May prevent absorption of fat soluble vitamins

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 9 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›