Product:
Sport Pet Cat Play Cube
Rating: 4.6

Average rating from 55 reviews.

Similar Products:
Kitty Gym Open Platform
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 18 reviews.

Kitty Gym Open
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 30 reviews.

Kitty Gym Cube-Double
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 18 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

38 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 8 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Felicia
Flag
Rating: 5

Great fun!

posted 6 years ago

These cubes are great. They are only like 4 bucks a cube. I love to watch the cats playing in them. I have 3 connected together to make it more fun.

Pros: cheap

Cons: none

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Twill47
Flag
Rating: 1

Beware! Almost killed our kitten!!!!

posted 3 years ago

I loved this product when I first purchased it - great value, can add to it & our kittens love it. What I wasn't ready for was that it almost took our kitten's life yesterday. Our 2 kittens ripped the thin fabric cubes apart the night before (unbeknownst to us). One of our kittens got tangled up in the cubes and the ribbing of one of the play cubes and it wrapped around his neck so tight that you couldn't even see it when you looked at his neck. I walked in while his was choking. He was almost gone and went limp and lifeless. We cut the ribbing and we started CPR. After a minute or so of CPR he gasped for air and basically came back to life. He wasn't right at all so I rushed him to the vet. He almost died. Be careful when having your cat(s) play with this product. Keep them under close supervision. Any sign of the cube being torn - throw it out immediately! I threw all our kitty play cubes out yesterday. Will not buy again - not worth it!

Pros: Inexpensive, Can Add To It, Kittens/Cats Love It

Cons: Very Dangerous To Pets, Danger of Strangulation, Poor Quality, Tears Easily, Thin Fabric

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Animalguardian
Flag
Rating: 5

Play Cube is Fun

posted 6 years ago

This cube is lots of fun for playful cats and a great place to sleep for lazy cats! My cats run in and out of the cube or use as a place from which to attack a string or ribbon dangled in front of one of the openings. Multiple cubes can be attached for cats to run through. An excellent item for kittens. The cubes are made of durable fabric and are very affordable (I found mine at Super Walmart for less than $4.)

I also found that one of my cats would hoard all of her little treasures in the cube and one of my other cats was taking a nap in it ( I finally found him after searching the entire house twice!).

Cubes fold easliy for storage. Be careful unfolding the cube as it pops open with some force.

Pros: Great Price, good for napping and playing

Cons: Pops open with force

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Amber
Flag
Rating: 4

Don't make 'em like they use to

posted 5 years ago

we first bought a Sport Pet play cube after we found the briar patch kittens. we got it for the kittens, but Gracie, an older cat, claimed the first cube for herself and didn't want the little guys to have it. at this point we probably have about half a dozen of these scattered around our apartment (seriously, i lost count). the cats love running and chasing one another through them. if they manage to pull the lure off of a dangly toy or to steal a sock or something, they love retreating into the cubes to enjoy their prize. sometimes when one cat is in the cube another will pounce on it, and either 1) the cube bounces right back or 2) it folds up. they're lots of fun, and they're really quite durable...

...or at least they used to be. when we first started buying these, they came in red and blue and were made of a smooth, parachute-type fabric. these cubes were very sturdy. more recently, they've started making them with a different fabric...the fabric is softer and has a kind of waffle-type texture to it, and comes in more muted colors, including light blue and purple. the fabric isn't really the problem, though. it's the wire that gives the cubes their structure. in the newer cubes, the wire they use is much flimsier. rather than simply collapsing, it easily gets bent out of shape so that your cube isn't exactly a "cube" for long. before you know it, it's an amorphous blob with a few holes in what used to be the sides.

in summary...lots of fun, but try to get the older style, parachute-material, vividly colored ones if you can.

Pros: collapses easily to save space, can connect multiple cubes

Cons: not as sturdy anymore

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Michele Z.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great for Playing, Hiding, or Sleeping

posted 6 years ago

Cat Play Cubes are inexpensive yet provide a nice play area that cats are sure to like. They are "tent-like" and do draw cats' attention. At less than $4 a cube and capable of being attached to other cubes for "bigger" fun, this is something all cat households should have! The concept is rather simple yet clever. Most (if not all) cat owners are aware of how cats are attracted to boxes, laundry baskets, etc. These cubes provide an alternative that is also more attractive.

I was rather shocked at just how much force was contained within the cube when I first opened it up. There is a "CAUTION" enclosed ("Item under spring pressure, keep item away from children and face while opening."), but I just didn't realize that a small plastic cube would have that much force. Despite this caution, it isn't quite enough since it SEEMS like an exaggeration (but is NOT). The caution should also mention to "keep away from PETS" when opening!!!!

I have bought 3 cubes thus far and will probably continue to buy more to make a longer tunnel. Four dollars at a time doesn't seem like much, but I suppose when numerous cubes are added the combined cost may be a little disproportionate to a better quality cat toy that I could have bought instead.

-- additional:

[updated on 2008-05-18 15:52:30 GMT]:
I rarely give a product a rating of "5", but I think this product merits one since it is so inexpensive yet practical and clearly something my cats enjoy.

Pros: Cats like them; Inexpensive; Expandable

Cons: Material may not hold up well for cats with claws

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 8 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›