Product:
Wellness Plan Core Cat Food
Rating: 4.2

Average rating from 20 reviews.

More Products By Wellness:
Wellness Healthy Weight Adult Cat Food
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Wellness Indoor Health Adult Cat Food
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Wellness Healthy Indulgence Grain Free Cat Food Pouches

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 16 reviews.

See all (123) ›

Similar Products:
Spa Select Kitten Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe Cat Food
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 16 reviews.

Pro plan with chicken
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 8 reviews.

Calorie Control cat food
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 7 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

13 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Glassterne
Flag
Rating: 5

Improved energy, splendidly healthy fur.

posted 6 years ago

First off, I switched my cat to this food about 2 months ago when she started to scratch her ears constantly-The vet thought she may have an allergy, and I didn't want to try multiple cheaper foods to find one that would work. I have heard that with allergies grains are usually the culprit, and had heard good things about this food, so I thought I would give it a try.

Well, the ear scratching is gone, so that is one concern out of the way! And I immediately started noticing a few unexpected benefits.

*Increased energy
I sometimes joke with my significant other that Turtle's energy is too high now, and that we should switch her food! She's always been a pretty active cat. Usually she would play for 10 minutes 2 or 3 times a day. Now however she is always active and alert, and loves to chase and fetch her mice for...well it seems like, HOURS.

*healthier look
Her fur has gotten shiny, softer, her eyes brighter, she just looks healthier.
For awhile due to my living circumstances she was a free feeder. One of the other cats had digestive problems so she needed to eat constantly. And Turtle got a little tubby.

I put her on a diet for a few months prior to when I switched her to this food, and at the time of her vet appointment she was right at her healthy weight, so perhaps some of these improvements were weight related, but I still think the food had something to do with it, too.

I also like that I can buy this food at the local Petco. I was considering buying a different brand that only sells in small pet shops, but I am glad I didn't. Being able to find it at a big chain means I don't have to deal with a small pet shops hours and days closed. (Or there slightly elevated prices)

Speaking of price, this food is definitely more expensive than the average pet food, however, the quality of the protein and other ingredients make up for that.

Also, since I only have one cat, spending around 20 dollars on her a month isn't too much of an investment.

I was a little hesitant to read that it had enzymes in it to aid digestion, and things like cranberries, etc. I would prefer if the food wasn't so beefed up with things that aren't necessary for her diet, but she seems to like it and the extra ingredients don't seem to be hurting her.

I listed the bag as hard to pour from, which sounds archaic, so I will explain. My cat still has claws, and teeth. She loves to chew through bags of food. So, naturally I store the food in a plastic container. The bag has a weird fold on each side, making it hard to pour without spilling the food everywhere. I only have to deal with this once a month though, so it's not a big priority.

As far as texture and taste are concerned, I don't even know how I would know about those things! I do know however that the smell reminds me of fish flakes, and that the tiny pellets seems to get really crumbly, leaving a lot of powder behind.

If you are looking for a high quality, but conveniently found pet food for your cat, I would recommend this. I haven't tried any of the other high quality brands, so I wouldn't know the difference between this and something comparatively priced at a small pet store, but it works for my cat!

Pros: Grain-free, available at big chains, big improvement

Cons: Bag hard to pour from, high cost

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Corissa B.
Flag
Rating: 5

Smelly cat no more!

posted 6 years ago

I've been on my soap box about cat diets more often than I can remember. Cats are true carnivores. They do not need or benefit from grains. In fact, I'm convinced they are HARMFUL. So, the CORE diet brought a smile to my face. Finally, a step in the right direction. Although I can not personally attest to the taste of this food, my cats (I have three) all easily accepted this diet - although I know of several who rejected it right away. Lets call them the "french fry lovers". (metaphorically, of course). Anyway - my boys, who were previously gassy - have resolved that issue on this food. I'm convinced it's the omission of certain ingredients which brings the carbs down. I still supplement with real meat and extra Omegas... they are thriving in every way and I do not have to tolerate the exhaust from their rear-turbo-propulsion.

Pros: high protein, low grain

Cons: often rejected

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Eshuthegreat
Flag
Rating: 5

Miracle food for cats with digestive issues

posted 7 years ago

I have 3 perians and 1 tonkinese... the trouble in out household is hairballs! However, one of my cats fell ill, very ill. Every time he ate, he would throw up and was loosing weight rapidly. I took him to the vet and they diagnosed him with a GI issue, requiring monthly shots of steroids to keep the vommitting and bloody stools at bay. I knew the problem was with the food, and I tried every expensive brand of food at petsmart and Keety still had the same problems until Wellness Plan Core came along. I was watching TV and heard about other pets having similar symptoms. Once the pets had been changed over to Wellness Plan Superfive Mix or Core, the symptoms had dissapated. I went to the Wellness Plan website and read up, it sounded like Keety had a gluten allergy and not a life threatening GI issue requiring monthly shots of Prednisone. All four of my cats now eat Wellness Plan Core and are very happy! We have not seen hair balls in a long time. Most importantly, Keety has gained weight and does not throw up at all! I highly recommend this food. It has made my cat a happier cat and a well cat! This food is costly, around the price of Eukanaba, but is highly worth it. If you have a pet having problems eating, digesting his/her food this food is worth a shot.

Pros: No artificial fillers, real meat... lives up to its claims!

Cons: Pricey!!!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Mary G.
Flag
Rating: 1

Sorry - Thumbs Down

posted 6 years ago

I purchased this product at an animal shelter and although it really was expensive I like the fact that it is "protein-focused"--after all cats need protein not carbs. I usually stay away from dry foods, because they are so over processed. When I opened the 2 lbs. bag, I was surprised that I could actually smell the food. When I poured some out for my two cats, they both had similar reactions. They looked at me like I was a crazy women. One of my boys did try a nibble, and if a cat could make a face that says "yuck" he would have. I am literally looking the bag right now and because it costs so much, I am going to ask my neighbor, who also has two cats, if she would like it. Otherwise tonight is garbage night.

Pros: Grain Free - High Protein

Cons: Very Pricey - Cats Hate

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Masihkap
Flag
Rating: 5

From a house of picky eaters

posted 7 years ago

My cats love this food - all four! If anyone knows cats, they are picky eaters, but everyone ate this happily. I love that its high protein for my hyper cats, but at the same time has high quality protein sources to help my overweight cat lose weight. The only bad part is the heavy price, but quality doesn't come cheap! I just wish there were some coupons to cut down a few bucks.

As for low moisture content - this can be balanced by providing plenty of fresh water and feeding your cat wet food which is vital to their health.

Pros: First ingredient is always type of meat, no by-products

Cons: Expensive

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›