Product:
Purina OM
Rating: 4.1

Average rating from 29 reviews.

More Products By Purina:
Purina JM Canine
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

healthy life nutrition
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Purina One Hairball relief
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

See all (279) ›

Similar Products:
Spa Select Kitten Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe Cat Food
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 16 reviews.

Pro plan with chicken
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 8 reviews.

Calorie Control cat food
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 7 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

20 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Erik1970
Flag
Rating: 5

Good for overweight cats!

posted 7 years ago

this is a great food for over weight cats!

Pros: grea for over weight cats!

Cons: none

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

amy c.
Flag
Rating: 5

Purina rocks

posted 7 years ago

I trust anything purina makes... they know what they are doing. They make great food and healthy food!

Pros: I <3 purina

Cons: . no cons

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Julietsmom
Flag
Rating: 5

Fantastic product for finicky cats who have a weight issue

posted 7 years ago

We have 3 cats, two of whom need to watch their weight and one who eats a piece or two at a time. They are all very particular about their dry food. Also we have two long haired cats who need hairball control. Our wonderful vet had us try a few light foods but our cats would spit the food out and would not eat. We also tried mixing half regular hairball and hairball light from another very good brand. The cats would pick out the regular hairball food and leave the light one behind. They would also try to remove the hairball light from their bowls. They would flip the bowls over and try to bury the food. We knew we needed to have a food that was less caloric than the one we were using. Our vet suggested breaking away from our previous brand and trying a new brand and type of food for the cats. We agreed to try the new brand (new to us anyway) because we trust our vet implicitly with our cats and their health. Our vet recommended Purina OM. I am so very glad we tried it!! What a terrific product!! All of our cats eat it without any issues. Even better than that is that the product has worked to help our two "chunky" cats lose the weight the vet recommended, it has helped them to maintain their body weights at their new level and it also helped to control the hairball issues. We are extremely pleased with Purina OM and are very thankful to our vet for recommending it to help ensure our cats are not only healthy but very happy as well.

Pros: cats love it, good ingredients, works well

Cons: none

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Jclerf
Flag
Rating: 5

Good For Weight Loss

posted 7 years ago

One of our cats was overweight and was prescribed this food by the vet. Since starting her diet five months ago, she has slimmed down from 17 pounds to 12 pounds. This food does cost a lot, but it's no more than the fancier dry foods you can buy at the pet store, and none of those foods worked for weight loss.

Pros: Cats lose weight and seem to enjoy the taste

Cons: Expensive, have to buy at the vet's office

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Strawberry921
Flag
Rating: 5

Only thing that worked!

posted 6 years ago

My cat Kharma was steadily climbing in weight, and my vet actually classified her as 'obese' at her examination. I tried many different light foods, I tried limiting her portions (which is difficult with 2 other cats in a small apartment), playing with her more... Her weight stabilized but it wouldn't go down. It literally looked like she had swallowed a football.

My vet said she might be "carbohydrate intolerant," which sounded a little strange but I went with it. Since switching her to this "low carb, high protein" food, she eats less on her own. As a bonus, she really likes the taste (and my other cats prefer it over Science Diet, although I don't let them have the OM because it's $20 a bag and their weight is within normal range).

Kharma has steadily been losing weight. Now 8-1/2 years old, she's more playful than she was before I switched her diet, she sheds less, her coat went from dull dandruff-city to shiny (not to mention she can groom herself better), and it's just wonderful to see such a complete 180!

I would recommend this to anyone who has all but given up on their kitty's battle of the bulge.

Pros: good for football-shaped kitties, good taste, shiny coat

Cons: a bit expensive, but she eats less. plus fending off obesity-related disease is a cost-savings

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›