Product:
Halo Spot's Stew:  Wholesome Lamb Recipe
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 37 reviews.

More Products By Halo:
Halo Pet Hot Spot
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Halo Liv-a-Littles Protein Treats

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 6 reviews.

Halo Pet Older Pet Set
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

See all (53) ›

Similar Products:
Sardines for Cats
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 30 reviews.

Natural Select Cuts Tuna & Crab Meat
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Friskies
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

37 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 8 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Patti K.
Flag
Rating: 5

Finally - 5 Year Search Is Over

posted 5 years ago

...My 15 year old tabby had thrown up every day at least once for the last 5 years. Dozens of vet bills and prescriptions didn't help. I can't count the many different brands of food I tried. I even attempted to make my own cat food. That was a disaster since I have trouble making eatable food even for myself. They tried to cover it with the area rug. You would have thought I served them something from the litterbox!

...About 2 months ago I found the Halo website after doing yet another research attempt to help my poor ailing fur-friend. Since there was a $5 off coupon for signing up for their newsletter I thought I would give it a shot. I am on a fixed disability income so any savings is a great help.

...At first I tried the canned Halo Salmon. Another brand of all natural dry cat food was on sale ("Core") so I tried that instead of the dry Halo. Both of my cats went crazy for the canned Halo Salmon. They ate the "Core" ($25 for 6#), but about the same as they did before with the "Hills Prescription Diet for Sensitive Stomaches"($58 for 8#). Symba, the tabby, was only sick twice over the following week as I weaned them from the old food to the new. That alone was fabulous. And that is the way it stayed until I ran out of the "Core" dry food.

...The next trial of new food was a switch to Halo dry Salmon ($10 for 3#) and a variety of the canned Halo ($15 for 12 of the smaller 3.5oz-better price per oz. if you buy 7.5oz size). By the second day after they were weaned off the "Core" and on the Halo food exclusively, Symba was back to his old self like he was 5 years ago. No stomach problems and he has more energy to keep up with his 7 year old crazy sister, Ebony.

They love the dry Salmon so much that I am not even going to try the other flavors. They have one for sensitive stomaches, but since feeding them the Halo regular food Symba no longer has that problem. They loved all the can flavors, but I am giving them the Turkey since they are getting Salmon in the dry food.

...As for the canned Lamb, I have a personal issue with killing lambs for food, but I understand that cats are meat eaters so that is really an individual choice. If I knew more about the lambs living conditions it would probably not be such an issue with me either. Unfortunately, I have seen videos that make it difficult for me to buy lamb or veal products.

...As for the cost, it actually costs me less to feed my cats because #1. Symba keeps down the food he eats, #2. they both seem to need less since it is such a high quality food, #3. I only give them about a tablespoon of the can in the morning and evening as a treat since the dry gives them all the nutrition they really need, and #4. I even save on litter since I use about 1/3 less.

...CAUTION: If your cat tends to avoid his water dish with any brand of dry food make sure you give them wet food for hydration. Tip: A tiny pinch of SEA SALT (regular salt is bad for them) in about a pint of filtered or bottled water encourages them to drink and adds vital trace minerals with an alkaline finish to aid their immune system.

...So, bottom-line is, "go for it" because both you and your cats will be glad you did! Although, your vet will probably wonder why you only visit on their yearly checkup. I am looking forward to Symba's checkup in August.

Pros: First food without stomach upset in 5 year search!

Cons: Quality does cost more, but worth it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Kim M.
Flag
Rating: 5

Halo Rocks!

posted 6 years ago

I work in a petstore and am faced with finding the best foods for people everyday. Halo, across the board, is one of the best choices I have found for dog or cat food. You can read the ingredient label and know what every single ingredient is without needing a dictionary. I really like that. The pets seem to love it and I would say it is one of the best foods we sell. It is on the pricey side, but I would say it is definitely worth it. They also have an entire line of healthy treats, vitamin supplements and more.

Pros: very palatible, no preservatives, chemicals or dyes

Cons: expensive

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

James S.
Flag
Rating: 3

Spot's Stew

posted 5 years ago

Some of our foster cats just loved the Spot's Stew products. Others took one sniff and started working to cover it like poo. It was hard to predict. Our three cats liked other products better, so we stopped buying it once the foster kittens were gone.

Overall, the quality seemed high, and the nutritional information was comparable to other high quality products.

Pros: Loved by Some

Cons: Hated by Others

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

DDRau
Flag
Rating: 5

Cats loved it

posted 6 years ago

Our pet sitter brought in this food when our cats balked at their regular wet food. Contains lamb, beef liver, broth, yellow squash, celery, zucchini, carrots, green peas, green beans, water, mustard greens, okra, dried kelp, calcium citrate, flax seed, sweet potato, pumpkin, dicalcium phosphate and ascorbic acid. Hmmmm...sounds like something to serve for Thanksgiving. Cats love it!

Pros: Excellent palatability

Cons: price

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Jaswinder
Flag
Rating: 5

As close to homemade food

posted 6 years ago

SInce i dont have cats i gave this to my sister to try on her cat. Her cat loves it.
it looks like homemade food and is all natural. with stuff like lamb, beef liver, broth, yellow squash, celery, zucchini, carrots, green peas, green beans, mustard greens, okra, dried kelp, sweet potato, pumpkin and other stuff it looks really appetizing.

Pros: smells great

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 8 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›