Product:
A/D dog and cat food
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 22 reviews.

Similar Products:
Sardines for Cats
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 30 reviews.

Natural Select Cuts Tuna & Crab Meat
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Friskies
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

22 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Lisa B.
Flag
Rating: 5

Life Saving Food

posted 5 years ago

In rescue this has been a life-saving food for me. I foster cats that get sick or have special needs and for those who won't eat and need to be forcefed, this is the best. I have tried other canned foods in a syringe but most don't work very well and clog the syringe. I fed one foster AD for 6m after she developed hepatic lipidosis(fatty liver) and she did survive and started eating on her own both canned and dry at 8-10m after getting sick. Many others I have aren't sick this long but I always have a few cans on my shelf.

Pros: very tasty, syringe feed, high calorie

Cons: pricey

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

DebraP
Flag
Rating: 5

Great for cats that don't want to eat anything else

posted 5 years ago

We use this at our shelter when our cats refuse to eat anything else, and end up losing weight. They all too often end up eating this. It has a very fine texture that makes it easy to eat if they have a sore mouth. It also mixes with water easily to make a nice paste that you can force feed with a syringe (if necessary). Most cats that aren't even sick go crazy for it.

Pros: high calorie for cats who need to gain weight

Cons: can only get from vet/expensive

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Katy Q.
Flag
Rating: 5

A great product

posted 5 years ago

A/D must taste as good to them as pizza does to us :) It is great for getting animals to eat that do not want to for some reason. Most of the time it is able to convince an a animal to eat. And when it can't and the animal has to be force fed, it has lots of calories so you do not have to force as much into them.

Pros: Super tasty for kitties

Cons: Pretty rich and salty and should not be fed long term

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Blackie1
Flag
Rating: 5

Important for the really sick cat

posted 5 years ago

We were hand feeding one of our cats who didn't want to eat. Tried mixing regular canned food with water, even straining it, but the consistency was never the equal of this for syringe sucking. Plus, it's extra odiferous to try and tempt the non-eater.

Pros: taste and texture

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

DawnG01
Flag
Rating: 5

Nourishing

posted 5 years ago

I adopted a stray cat from the ASPCA. She came to me very sick. And so thin. Along with medical treatment, I fed her A/D.

Oh my!

She ate and ate. One large can per day...and gained her weight back quickly and got well.

Pros: Cat gobbled it up

Cons: None

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›