Product:
Simon and Schuster's Guide to Dogs, by Gino Pugnetti
Rating: 4.5

Average rating from 11 reviews.

Similar Products:
Just Setters by Steve Smith
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 5 reviews.

Barrons Miniature Schnauzers A Complete Pet Owners Manual Book
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 4 reviews.

Simon and Schuster Guide to Cats
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

6 reviews

1 | 2 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
John R.
Flag
Rating: 4

A valuable pocket compendium

posted 6 years ago

A most valuable concise encyclopedia that will fit in your pocket. Covers over 320 breeds (obviously including many outside the AKC canon) organized by the following groups: Working Dogs, Terriers, Hunting Dogs, Companion Dogs, Toys, Greyhounds. This departs from the AKC grouping; the Working group, for example, includes herding dogs as well as the various Mastiffs, the Boxer, etc., and the Hunting includes not only the scent-hounds (but not all the sight-hounds) but also the various retrievers. For this reason, reference needs will best be served by the very comprehensive and easy-to-use Index.
Each entry includes one or more good pictures plus a brief summary of (1) origin, (2) description, (3) personality, (4) uses, often concluding with a special remark on some particularly noteworthy feature.
An introduction briefly treats a number of aspects of dog behavior, uses, considerations in selection, various diseases, and general care. A glossary defines various terms relating mainly to physical attributes. The book is printed on high-quality glossy stock and is bound with an unusually durable spine and paper wrappers.

Pros: Concise, good pictures, durable binding

Cons: Grouping could be better

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

DanaF
Flag
Rating: 5

Great Breed Book

posted 6 years ago

I bought this book several years ago when my husband and I were trying to determine what kind of breed would fit best into our family. We were buying our first dog together. We chose an Alaskan Malamute based on the information given in the book. The book was really accurate. Skip ahead 15 years and we now have 2 cats. I still pick this book up and read about the origins, personalities, etc. of different breeds because I find it really interesting. I recommend adoption from rescues/shelters, etc. I still think that this book could be helpful for mixed breeds if you know what breed the mother and/or father was.

Pros: Easy to read and very informative

Cons: None

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Herburban
Flag
Rating: 4

A little about a lot

posted 6 years ago

I bought this book as a child and enjoyed looking at all the different breeds ( i had no idea there were over 300+!). While the book has many breeds, there are some weaknesses with the book. Most breeds have only one photo representation, and the photos aren't always great examples of the breed standard (for example, the Golden Retriever photo is from behind, from a distance, and looks more like a labrador retriever). And the quick references aren't very helpful, saying that a breed is "gentle with children" and "has a tendency to bite" at the same time. Still a fun read or library book.

Pros: hundreds of breeds listed

Cons: some photos not ideal

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Barbara R.
Flag
Rating: 5

I refer to this book all the time

posted 5 years ago

I use this book all the time.Good photos, descriptions, origins, traits, etc. for most dogs you wish to look up. I always go to this book first. However found a more compete reference Desmond Morris "Dogs" which has over 1,000 breeds and is probably the most complete reference on the market. I have a Leopard Cur and that is covered along with other fiests and cur breeds where the Simon and Schuster book does not. Pictures are better in Simon and Schuster.

Pros: had most common dog breeds

Cons: not totally complete

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

DDRau
Flag
Rating: 5

Handy Guide

posted 5 years ago

This is a good basic reference book that covers all the AKC breeds of the day and then some. It's a bit out of date but still good for information on lots of breeds. Not sure how it got listed as a cat book because it makes it difficult to find to review.

Pros: nice pictures and convenient size

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›