Product:
bird bath de-icer
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 20 reviews.

More Products By Allied Precision:
Heated Pet Bed
Rating: 4.6

Average rating from 5 reviews.

Heated Water Bucket
Rating: 4.5

Average rating from 13 reviews.

Cast Aluminum Sinking De-Icer
Rating: 4.3

Average rating from 3 reviews.

See all (7) ›

Similar Products:
Heated Deck Rail Bird Bath
Rating: 4.5

Average rating from 6 reviews.

natural nesting huts
Rating: 4.4

Average rating from 5 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

16 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Peggy B.
Flag
Rating: 5

This bird bath de-icer works

posted 5 years ago

This de-icer kept our water from freezing even on the coldest winter days. The water does evaporate quickly, but that would happen with any bird bath de-icer in such weather. It seems to be a pretty rugged little thing because we let our water completely evaporate a couple times and I was afraid it would burn-out, but it didn't. Still works.

Pros: keeps water from freezing

Cons: none

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Joyce P.
Flag
Rating: 3

Do you plug this in?

posted 5 years ago

I'm not sure I'd like to have a long electrical cord snaking from my porch to a birdbath, but this certainly seems to be a good idea. Every winter I empty my birdbath and put the basin on its side to keep the cement from freezing and cracking. I've used all sorts of substitutes; metal or heavy plastic pans. But sometimes it's hard to empty and refill them; they can freeze to the ground. I worry about the electrical cord needed for this or I'd be ordering one today!

Pros: Keeps birds' water from freezing in the winter

Cons: Is the electric safe?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Rene (Ron) F.
Flag
Rating: 5

Keeps water available for drinking and bathing

posted 5 years ago

It's good to see the birds taking advantage of the water that this makes available in the frigid weather we've been having. Even the squirrels run up and get their drink. Of course that makes the water disappear sooner, but we have to help all the animals in the cold.

Pros: Does the job

Cons: none

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Bill P.
Flag
Rating: 5

Perfect for bid baths

posted 5 years ago

My bird, Mr. Feathers, enjoys a nice bath, like all birds do. The water was cold - dare I say frigid, almost to the point of freezing. Installing this bird bath de-icer was just the ticket. Now, once I bring him his newspaper and a glass of the bubbly, he baths in nice warm water.

Pros: Keeps ice from forming

Cons: -

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Rory S.
Flag
Rating: 5

Birds Need Water

posted 5 years ago

We always have fresh water in the cold winter months and believe me, its cold in Northern Wisconsin. This is a great idea to keep the water thawed and we have it on a timer so be conservative. The birds have water ready by 6am and it goes off at 6pm.

Pros: BIRDS NEED WATER

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›