Product:
The Importance of Bird Toys - Training DVD
Rating: 3.6

Average rating from 18 reviews.

More Products By WindyCityParrot:
Wrought Iron Aviary & Stand
Rating: 4.6

Average rating from 10 reviews.

See all (2) ›

Similar Products:
Zeke's mini naturals treats
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 11 reviews.

French Hinge Training Pouch
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 7 reviews.

Importance of Bird Toys - DVD
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 6 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

11 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
jon s.
Flag
Rating: 1

Full of info

posted 6 years ago

this is a great video full of information and easy to follow, a great learning tool

Pros: inexpensive

Cons: no cons

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Michele Z.
Flag
Rating: 1

DEFECTIVE DVD Made Comprehensive Difficult/Impossible!!!!

posted 6 years ago

When I saw that the first reviewer wrote that s/he had received a scratched DVD and was unable to rate it, I thought it was just bad luck....BUT my DVD was also DEFECTIVE!!!! It started out okay for about 2 minutes (long enough to get through the awful and annoying music) but then started skipping and there were distorted still-frames. After 25 minutes of torture trying to make out what I could (through the mostly inaudable DVD), the DVD would not advance any further and I QUIT!!!! It was VERY frustrating trying to listen and watch.

From what I managed to make out, there seems to be a lot of GOOD tips about choosing a pet bird, as well as tips for avoiding problem behaviors. The narrator (Michelle Karras, a bird expert) came across as being ANGRY with past pet bird owners and their failure to properly care for their birds, which either led to behavior problems and/or relinquishing the pets to sanctuaries. Her negativity was a turn-off, and I was quick to decide that I did NOT want a pet bird!! I don't think that was the intent of the DVD, but that is what came across.

IF the DVD was in working condition, I probably would have lent it to my niece (who has a bird--cockatiel?) so that she could benefit from it, but I can't/won't do that because the DVD is defective!!!! What a waste; I'm glad it was only a free sample and I didn't have to pay the MSRP of $10.00.

-- additional:

[updated on 2008-01-21 09:30:22]:
"Comprehensive" in title is a typo and should be "Comprehension"!!
[updated on 2008-01-25 13:11:05]:
Someone at WindyCityParrot IS paying attention and must have noticed that the 2 or 3 reviewers to date had received defective DVDs.

I received a replacement DVD in the mail today (withOUT requesting one--Thank you!) and will try to watch it and write a revised review ASAP.
[updated on 2008-02-03 00:01:01]:
The DVD is full of useful information about birds and helpful tips for anyone contemplating getting a pet bird. However, I think anyone who watched the DVD first probably wouldn't want to get a bird! The DVD's strength is also its weakness. The amount of time that supposedly must be spent per day on one's bird isn't something the average person would allot. In fact, I wonder if the narrator--who I believe has ELEVEN birds--can even follow her own advice!

I would recommend this DVD for anyone considering getting a bird (although I don't think it is worth $10.00), but I also think the DVD could be less critical of past bird owners and more positive about future bird adopters.

Pros: Was Able To Make Out A Few Good Tips

Cons: Defective DVD; Virtually USELESS As Is

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Coyoteluver
Flag
Rating: 4

Great Information

posted 6 years ago

I also recieved two copies of this dvd. I'm still waiting to find a bird lover to give the other copy to. I found the dvd very informational. They had some great ideas about toys and the different kinds you could buy. I would definantly watch another dvd from this company. It's great for any beginner bird handler as well teaching how to "step up." I liked it alot.

Pros: Very informational, great examples

Cons: came with a broken case

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Cecelia
Flag
Rating: 4

It's got helpful information!

posted 6 years ago

They sent me two of these DVDs in the mail, even though I only wanted one. It taught me things I already knew about toys and how important they are.

Pros: Good for the newbies with birds!

Cons: Sent me two of them, why would I want two?

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Purplefdu
Flag
Rating: 4

Very Informative

posted 6 years ago

I must have been lucky. My DVD case was broken but the DVD worked just fine. My husband and I enjoyed watching the DVD and will be looking at trying some of the things with our parrot. Its nice to be able to see how to work with the parrot instead of just reading a book. Shasta gives it two wing tips up.

Pros: good format compred to reading

Cons: lots of reading on screen at times

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›