Product:
Pennington Black Oil Sunflower Seed
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 17 reviews.

Similar Products:
Royal Wing Peanut Suet
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

Berry Suet
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Sunflower Blend Premium Suet
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

14 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Terry F.
Flag
Rating: 5

Preferred Seed

posted 5 years ago

If you buy only one seed, the black oil sunflower seed is the one to buy. It attracts more birds than any other seed. The black oil provides more oil for the birds' feathers than the striped sunflower seeds. The only problem I have with the seeds is during the summer when the bugs get in the bag; however, I have come up with a way to stop this. I put a cedar block in the bag of seed and voila...no more bugs.

Pros: Attracts many varieties of birds, easy to find

Cons: Shells on the ground

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Tom F.
Flag
Rating: 5

Best year-round seed

posted 5 years ago

This is the only seed I keep in my feeders year-round. It is preferred by about 80% of the birds that come into my yard and attracts those that are migrating. The squirrels are also more than happy to clean up what is left on the ground.

Pros: Most birds are attracted to black oil sunflower seeds

Cons: Sprouts easily

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

DEREKDEMANE
Flag
Rating: 5

Miss Mighty Mouse loves it

posted 5 years ago

This is Miss Mighty Mouse's favorite type of bird seed. Its affordable and if she likes it than its alright by me. I would recommend this seed for any bird owner or any person that has a crime fighting pet.

Pros: Gives her energy to fight crime

Cons: none that I can think of

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Lucille Vaughn F.
Flag
Rating: 4

Get lots of Sunflowers from spilled seeds

posted 5 years ago

I love how the Black Oil Sunflower seeds attract the birds, but I hate how there is so much waste and and sunflower plants popping up everywhere.
I will say, that it does attract many different birds.

Pros: The birds love it

Cons: My lawn doesn't

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Debbie H.
Flag
Rating: 5

Best Seed

posted 5 years ago

I never have any waste when I put out Pennington black oil sunflower seed. Numerous birds are attracted to it. Also, my chippy who lives in our retaining wall can't get enough of it!

Pros: Excellent seed to attract a variety of birds

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›