Product:
Harrison's Bird Diet adult lifetime coarse
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 17 reviews.

Similar Products:
AvianEntrées™ Wild & Spicy for Small Birds
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Kaytee Exact Conversion & Weaning Formula for Parrots & Conures
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 8 reviews.

Goldenfeast Golden'Obles
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 13 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

10 reviews

1 | 2 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Sarah  K.
Flag
Rating: 5

Quality ingredients

posted 6 years ago

I've used Harrison's for about 15 years, when I took in a malnourished Umbrella Cockatoo. I took him to see Dr. Harrison for a terrible respiratory infection, and I watched Dr. Harrison snack on the pellets himself. ;-) My bird did fight pellets at first, but then grew to love Harrisons, and he anxiously awaits breakfast in the mornings.

Pros: human-grade ingredients, balanced, healthy

Cons: may be hard to locate, cost

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Barb  A.
Flag
Rating: 5

My conure loves this food!

posted 5 years ago

I have had my bird on a quality seed diet most of her life and picked up a sample bag of this food while in the bird store. I have tried my bird on different pellet diets in the past and more food was knocked out of the dish than eaten. I gave Lucresia a few Harrison pellets and she seemed to enjoy the food and ate most of it. Each day I have filled one dish with some pellets and another dish with the seed. She has gone to the pellets and eats them all up. I am now trying to wean her off the seed and know that this new food will help her live a long life!

Pros: all natural, not messy, bird loves the taste, complete diet

Cons: none

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Christine D.
Flag
Rating: 4

Good nutrition for birds

posted 6 years ago

This is a great food with nothing artificially added. I've seen it recommended by bird educators and vets. It can be hard to find since it's only sold at veterinarian's offices or online. One thing to note, the bag states not to feed anything but the pellets. Although vets and others knowledgeable about bird nutrition recommend it, they all state that it is not complete and should be fed with fresh fruits and vegetables. We feed this to our African Grey and our Blue Crown Conure and the Harrison's fine pellets to our cockatiel.

Pros: Healthy, organic

Cons: Can be hard to find, not sold in stores, says complete, but it isn't, should still give fresh fruit and veggies daily

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Hope M.
Flag
Rating: 5

Excellent supplement to a bird's seed diet

posted 6 years ago

I researched on the web and did my homework to learn that seed diets alone are not good for my birds. I wrote letters to pellet manufacturers expressing my concern about switching from seeds to pellets, and told them how particular my birds are. I requested samples, and my birds were able to try each many different pellets. I believe that my birds preferred Harrisons, and I am still feeding their pellets mixed with seeds. My birds are happy and healthy because of it.

Pros: Excellent nutrition to supplement your bird's diet

Cons: Might take a while for your bird to eat pellets

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Calliemonster
Flag
Rating: 5

Yum!

posted 6 years ago

I love Harrison's, the products is great and Ive had fantastic results using it. The nutty flavor is easily accepted by most birds, and the nutritional values are very, very high. It should be refrigerated, so it doesn't spoil as it has no preservatives. The only complaint I have is that Harrison's recommends feeding their food as a main part of the diet, and most vets recommend a greater amount of cooked food or fresh leafy, or orange veggies.

Pros: Good taste, easily accepted, easy to hold

Cons: expensice, only found online in most areas

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›